Standing In Another Man's Grave by Ian RankinStanding In Another Man's Grave by Ian Rankin

Standing In Another Man's Grave

byIan Rankin

Paperback | November 6, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.93 online 
$24.99 list price save 8%
Earn 115 plum® points

Ships within 3-5 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


It's twenty-five years since John Rebus appeared on the scene, and five years since he retired. But 2012 sees his return inSTANDING IN ANOTHER MAN'S GRAVE. Not only is Rebus as stubborn and anarchic as ever, but he finds himself in trouble with Rankin's latest creation, Malcolm Fox of Edinburgh's internal affairs unit. Added to which, Rebus may be about to derail the career of his ex-colleague Siobhan Clarke, while himself being permanently derailed by mob boss and old adversary Big Ger Cafferty. But all Rebus wants to do is discover the truth about a series of seemingly unconnected disappearances stretching back to the millennium. The problem being, no one else wants to go there - and that includes Rebus's fellow officers. Not that any of that is going to stop Rebus. Not even when his own life and the careers of those around him are on the line.
Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982, and then spent three years writing novels when he was supposed to be working towards a PhD in Scottish Literature. His first Rebus novel was published in 1987, and the Rebus books are now translated into thirty-six languages and are best...
Title:Standing In Another Man's GraveFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8.75 × 6.35 × 0.68 inPublished:November 6, 2012Publisher:ORION PUBLISHING GROUPLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1409144720

ISBN - 13:9781409144724

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 4 out of 5 by from A really good read This is the first Ian Rankin book I've read, and I will definitely go back to read some of the earlier work. I love John Rebus and look forward to seeing how his character developed through the the years.#plumrewards
Date published: 2017-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Captivating Book #18, in the Inspector Rebus series After five years into retirement Rebus is back only to find himself in trouble, what else is new? We should have known better to think Rankin would have put his best protagonist to pasture. He is just too good a character to have done so. Still his old self, drinking and smoking to excess, Rebus now in a civilian capacity works for the serious crime review looking into cold cases of long forgotten victims. He pairs up with his old protégée, Siobhan Clarke, and they embark on an investigation that will see them hopping all over Scotland even into the most remote of places. All along the way the author expertly spins a suspenseful tale one that could have been hard to put down if it wasn't for countless countryside description and poetically villages names and the constant moments when Rebus lights another cigarettes or opts for another drink. As always Mr. Rankin is impressive at handling plot complication and adding twists to force his protagonist in taking unorthodox action, having a seditious behaviour and ignoring protocol. He is not a team player and never will and is well aware that he is out of step with the new way of working….but Rebus will rise up to the task and show us how to get the job done….he is in top shape to tackle anything… I am glad Mr. Rankin resuscitated his grumpy old detective. This series was the author’s best and still is IMO.
Date published: 2013-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Welcome Back Great to see Rebus back. Interesting meshing of the Rebus and Malcolm Fox characters. This book was written differently and to me it didn't quite feel right to me however does not take away from the pleasure of the read. Hope there will be more to come soon. I give it 4 of 5 stars.
Date published: 2013-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a heartfelt hurray! Thank you thank you Ian Rankin - returning Inspector Rebus to police work was such a wonderful Xmas gift! Rebus is back, albeit in a different capacity though none the less ascerbic, insightful or rebellious. He simply cannot leave well enough alone, and his stubbornness and tenacity lead him to work with cold cases, where he meets the families of missing persons, and seeks to bring closure to their lives. Siobhan is back, and looks like she is on the ladder to greatness, having been released from the shadow of Rebus's influence - or has she? Interestingly and effectively, Rankin has also injected his character Malcolm Fox into the story - will Rebus finally have met his match? For Rankin/Rebus/Fox fans, this is a gift of a read.
Date published: 2012-12-10