Stanley Cup: 120 Years of Hockey Supremacy by Eric ZweigStanley Cup: 120 Years of Hockey Supremacy by Eric Zweig

Stanley Cup: 120 Years of Hockey Supremacy

byEric ZweigForeword byPhil Pritchard

Hardcover | October 11, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info

$47.67 online 
$49.95 list price
Earn 238 plum® points

Out of stock online

Not available in stores


Stanley Cup: 120 Years of Hockey Supremacy is the definitive book on the history of the Stanley Cup and the championship teams that have won it.

In honor of the 120th anniversary of the first winner of the Stanley Cup, author Eric Zweig has collected the details of every cup winner from 1893 to present. Hockey fans can chart the course of hockey history and revisit the dynasties and Cinderella stories of each and every decade. Zweig presents each Stanley Cup winner in an illustrated two-page spread, detailing playoff brackets, club rosters and playoff statistics, as well as providing stories and sidebars outlining the incredible journey each team took to achieve hockey supremacy.

Presented between seasons are highlights of some of hockey's best and most controversial playoff moments, such as Brett Hull's "no goal" in the 1999 final or Bobby Baun's overtime winning goal for the 1964 Stanley Cup.

Also included in this expansive volume are personal stories of some of the NHL's best playoff games as recounted by Hockey Hall of Fame legends Phil Esposito, Dave Keon and Ken Dryden, to name a few. Complete with a foreword by Phil Pritchard, the Keeper of the Stanley Cup, and packed with information and over 200 photographs, Stanley Cup is a must have for any hockey fan.

Eric Zweig is an author and sports journalist who has written dozens of books and writes for the Toronto Star, The Globe and Mail and the Toronto Sun. Eric was also a contributor to the Official Guide to the Players of the Hockey Hall of Fame also published by Firefly Books Ltd. Eric Zweig; Foreword by Phil Pritchard, The Ke...
Title:Stanley Cup: 120 Years of Hockey SupremacyFormat:HardcoverDimensions:352 pages, 10 × 10 × 1.12 inPublished:October 11, 2012Publisher:Firefly BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1770851046

ISBN - 13:9781770851047

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents


  • The Modern NHL: 1967-68 to Present
  • The Original Six: 1942-43 to 1966-67
  • Early NHL Years: !917-18 to 1941-42
  • Before the NHL: 1892-93 to 1916-17

Cup Winners
NHL Playoff Formats
Photo Credits

Editorial Reviews

Zweig has done a magnificent job documenting in a handsome coffee table giant the years since 1892 when Lord Stanley donated the original cup to be awarded as a challenge trophy. Heavily illustrated, chock-full of statistics and complete with fascinating sidebars, Stanley Cup is arranged from the most recent victory by the Los Angeles Kings to that day in February 1893 when the Montreal hockey club won the first annual match. In between those dates, Zweig packs enough full-colour photographs, biographies and Cup trivia to last until some agreement is reached in the NHL.