Still Life: The Books Of Elsewhere: Volume 5 by Jacqueline WestStill Life: The Books Of Elsewhere: Volume 5 by Jacqueline West

Still Life: The Books Of Elsewhere: Volume 5

byJacqueline WestIllustratorPoly Bernatene

Paperback | June 2, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 50 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


The fifth and final book in The Books of Elsewhere, the award-winning, New York Times bestselling, fan-favorite series--absolutely not to be missed.

Annabelle McMartin is gone for good, but something worse lurks just out of sight--watching, waiting, preparing to strike. Then a field trip to the local art museum reveals a shock. What Olive discovers will create a chain of events that propel her to discoveries she may not wish to uncover, involving Morton's vanished parents and the very deepest, darkest roots of Aldous McMartin's creepy painted world. In this fifth and final book, Olive must seek the full, complex story of Elsewhere, its magical origins, and its creator, and in so doing, face her own fears and limitations--and possibly the destruction of Elsewhere itself. How far will Olive go to save the people and home she loves? And what will be the final cost?

A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.

"It's like Coraline meets Harry Potter."—Nerdist 

"Hand these books to fans of Lemony Snicket, Pseudonymous Bosch, and Angie Sage.”—School Library Journal 
A two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry, Jacqueline West lives amid the bluffs of Red Wing, Minnesota, with her husband and their dog, Brom Bones. This is her fifth novel.
Title:Still Life: The Books Of Elsewhere: Volume 5Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 7.75 × 5.06 × 0.87 inPublished:June 2, 2015Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0142422975

ISBN - 13:9780142422977

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfying to its end! If you do ever need to say goodbye to the world––an entire, well-crafted world––you've created, then this is the way to go about doing it. I feel richer for having fallen in love with Sir Terry Pratchett's writing––I am all the better for having enjoyed his work... and for its impact upon my life!
Date published: 2017-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Terry Pratchett The last book in the Discworld series. 40+ books and every one is amazing. If you haven't read any start reading them in the published order to get the most out of every book.
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from And it is wonderful. Wonderful work by a fine writer. Well worth reading on a cold day. You will be glad to have a copy!!!
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a wonderful farewell This was such a wonderful farewell to us from Terry Pratchett and the Discworld. Truly a fitting end to his incredible literary legacy. Yes, I wish there would be more books from Sir Terry, but that isn't to be. Going out on Tiffany Aching was a lovely ending. Once again a masterfully written book, full of wit and humor and clever twists. Truly, it hurts knowing there will be no more new Terry Pratchett books. I shall have to make due with the 40+ that I already have.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from But... isn't that the point?? This book lived up to expectations; it was immensely satisfying, and... like all Discworld books do... it left you wanting more. Yes, there will be no more novels from Sir Terry, and that IS sad, but maybe his work is meant to entertain AND inspire us, so that we, too, may ourselves one day take up a pen, and charge into battle against the whiteness of papers yet to be filled? I can think of no better legacy for the man who has given so much to the imagination of others!
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best book I laughed, i cried can't believe the great granny weatherwas is at a jouneys end and tiffany is at the beginnng. I'll miss the crivens! after all they were my favourite. Terry pratchett you brought a world of mystery and magic that will never be forgotten.
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fun and adventure Great fun and adventure, continues the story of Tiffany and the Feegles. I just love these little blue warriors
Date published: 2015-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fun and adventure Great fun and adventure continues the story of Tiffany and the Feegles, its a pity there can be no more adventures
Date published: 2015-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A smile and a sadness Tiffany and the witches of the discworld come together in a funny, exciting, raucous, defense of their turf. The book is a treasure, and the sadness of this being the last one will be tempered by rereading all of them. Crivens!
Date published: 2015-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think I'm going to cry A bittersweet read ths last Discworld and while perhaps not quite as polished as the rest WHO CARES?
Date published: 2015-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Last Book Reading this made me want to cry - and I did when I got to the final page of this final book. It left me wanting so much more, and so sad that there will not be any more left to come.
Date published: 2015-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feels Like a Farewell What could I say? Read it. It is the best possible goodbye from the most amazing man and the greatest world.
Date published: 2015-08-29

Editorial Reviews

PRIASE FOR THE BOOKS OF ELSEWHERE, VOL. 5: STILL LIFE:“The suspenseful and well-realized world that West has created comes to a satisfying conclusion. . . . Hand these books to fans of Lemony Snicket, Pseudonymous Bosch, and Angie Sage.”—SLJ *“This final volume emphasizes the importance of friendship and support. . . . Olive’s efforts bring great rewards for herself and her readers. . . . Order the series.”—VOYA (starred review)"A thoroughly satisfying reward for loyal fans of the series."—Kirkus “West is a fine plot-spinner . . . Still Life winds up the McMartin saga with emotional complexity and suspense, and the denouement of the tale is generous and joyful.”—Minneapolis Star Tribune "It's like Coraline meets Harry Potter."—Nerdist “If you or your kids are enthralled by the darker side of storytelling—think Neil Gaiman and Roald Dahl—then The Books of Elsewhere should be on your reading list. Full of magic, mystery, curiosity, and just enough danger . . . impossible to put down.”—Geekmom