Story: The Library of Wales Short Story Anthology by Dai Smith

Story: The Library of Wales Short Story Anthology

byDai Smith

Kobo ebook | September 1, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.19 online 
$13.99 list price save 20%

Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


The Library of Wales’ Story anthologies feature the very best of Welsh short fiction, written amid the political, social, and economic turbulence of 20th-century Wales and beyond. More than 80 outstanding works from the classics of Dylan Thomas, Rhys Davies, Arthur Machen, and Gwyn Thomas to the almost forgotten brilliance of work by Margiad Evans and Dilys Rowe and then forward to the prize-winning work of Emyr Humphreys, Rachel Trezise, and Leonora Brito, coloring and engaging in the life of a changed country. Story Volume 1 depicts a Wales wracked by a driving capitalism, shriven by hypocrisy and soon devastated by two world wars, but still creative, resilient, and sometimes laughing uproariously. The writers produced stories to entertain, engage, and share in the intimate lives of a distinctive people. In this selection Dai Smith has crafted an anthology that gives a unique insight into the life of a country and the talent of its major writers.
Title:Story: The Library of Wales Short Story AnthologyFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:September 1, 2014Publisher:Parthian BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1909844187

ISBN - 13:9781909844186