Stranger Than We Can Imagine: An Alternative History Of The 20th Century

Stranger Than We Can Imagine: An Alternative History Of The 20th Century

Hardcover | September 21, 2015

byJohn Higgs

not yet rated|write a review
The extraordinary story of the 20th century, as told from the furthest fringes of science, art and culture. For readers of Bryson's A Short History of Nearly Everything.

     Before 1900, history was an account of great discoveries that actually made sense. People understand innovations like the steam engine, agriculture, or electricity. The twentieth century, by contrast, gave us quantum entanglement, cubism, relativity, psychedelics, postmodernism, chaos maths, and the Somme.
     This is the story of that confusing century as told through the ideas produced at the furthest fringes of our sciences, arts, and culture. Its cast includes well-known geniuses such as Albert Einstein, Francis Crick, and Pablo Picasso, lesser known geniuses like Edward Lorenz, Sergey Korolyov, or Shigeru Miyamoto, and infamous but influential ne'er-do-wells like Timothy Leary, Aleister Crowley and Keith Richards. In this company we take a tour through ideas as strange as general relativity, DNA, the subconscious, Gaia theory, and Dada.
     In this brilliantly written and original book, John Higgs explores, with great clarity and wit, the extremes of twentieth century thought, and in doing so shows how a world of empires became a world of individuals. You will never see the twentieth century in the same way again.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$34.00

Ships within 1-2 weeks
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

Stranger Than We Can Imagine: An Alternative History Of The 20th Century

Hardcover | September 21, 2015
Ships within 1-2 weeks Available in stores
$34.00

From the Publisher

The extraordinary story of the 20th century, as told from the furthest fringes of science, art and culture. For readers of Bryson's A Short History of Nearly Everything.     Before 1900, history was an account of great discoveries that actually made sense. People understand innovations like the steam engine, agriculture, or electricity...

JOHN HIGGS is the author of I Have America Surrounded: The Life of Timothy Leary and The Brandy of the Damned. He created the long-running BBC Radio quiz show X Marks the Spot and has directed more than 100 episodes of animated pre-school British TV. He was raised in North Wales and now lives in Brighton with his partner and their two ...

other books by John Higgs

Stranger Than We Can Imagine: Making Sense Of The Twentieth Century
Stranger Than We Can Imagine: Making Sense Of The Twent...

Paperback|Nov 1 2016

$21.00 online$22.00list price
STRANGER THAN WE CAN IMAGINE
STRANGER THAN WE CAN IMAGINE

Hardcover|Mar 6 2017

$10.00 online$34.00list price(save 70%)
Dealing With Danger: Be Prepared, Aware and Decisive
Dealing With Danger: Be Prepared, Aware and Decisive

Kobo ebook|Jan 23 2013

$4.69 online$5.99list price(save 21%)
see all books by John Higgs
Format:HardcoverDimensions:352 pages, 9.41 × 6.38 × 1.18 inPublished:September 21, 2015Publisher:McClelland & StewartLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:077103847X

ISBN - 13:9780771038471

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Stranger Than We Can Imagine: An Alternative History Of The 20th Century

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“An illuminating work of massive insight…. Stranger Than We Can Imagine informs us exactly where we’ve been and, by extension, where we are. I cannot recommend this magnificent work too highly.”—Alan Moore, author of V for Vendetta   “A beautiful, erudite, funny and enlightening tour of the widening boundaries of uncertainty revealed in the twentieth century.” —Robin Ince   “Hugely entertaining and thought-provoking.” —Scott Pack   “To paraphrase Colonel Kurtz, reading John Higgs is like being shot with a diamond. Suddenly everything becomes terrifyingly clear.” —Mojo   “In Stranger Than We Can Imagine, John Higgs broadens his intellectual reach to encompass modernism, situationism, chaos theory, indeterminacy and almost every other byway of that epoch…. A fine example of learning worn lightly.” —New Scientist