Superposition by David WaltonSuperposition by David Walton

Superposition

byDavid Walton

Paperback | April 7, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.70

Earn 89 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A QUANTUM PHYSICS MURDER MYSTERY.
A Mind-Bending, Near-Future, Science Fiction Technothriller.

Jacob Kelley's family is turned upside down when an old friend turns up, waving a gun and babbling about an alien quantum intelligence. The mystery deepens when the friend is found dead in an underground bunker…apparently murdered the night he appeared at Jacob's house. Jacob is arrested for the murder and put on trial.  

As the details of the crime slowly come to light, the weave of reality becomes ever more tangled, twisted by a miraculous new technology and a quantum creature unconstrained by the normal limits of space and matter. With the help of his daughter, Alessandra, Jacob must find the true murderer before the creature destroys his family and everything he loves.
David Walton is the author of Quintessence (Tor Books, 2013) and the Philip K. Dick award-winning novel Terminal Mind. He lives near Philadelphia with his wife, seven children, and three hamsters. By day, he works on classified defense technology, which not even the hamsters are allowed to know about. David's fiction explores themes th...
Introducing Emotional Intelligence: A Practical Guide
Introducing Emotional Intelligence: A Practical Guide

by David Walton

$11.60$14.95

In stock online

Available in stores

The Genius Plague
The Genius Plague

by David Walton

$14.24$16.00

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

Introducing Cultural Studies: Learning Through Practice
Introducing Cultural Studies: Learning Through Practice

by David Walton

$74.95

In stock online

Not available in stores

Shop this author
Title:SuperpositionFormat:PaperbackDimensions:303 pages, 8.19 × 5.47 × 0.79 inPublished:April 7, 2015Publisher:Prometheus BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1633880125

ISBN - 13:9781633880122

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Superposition

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4.5 Stars This book is pretty science-heavy at times. I’m not the best with understandings of physics, so some things went over my head. If, like me, you’re not familiar with scientific stuff, this won’t be just an easy read. You’re going to have to think a lot. I found this both frustrating and refreshing. I typically read YA books (though I’m trying to get off that train and delve into more Adult books), so I’m used to just cruising through books easily. I’m not used to my brain being challenged by reading! However, I like using my brain, so it was a good experience for me. Even though I still don’t completely understand everything that happened in this book. I thought this book was well done. Walton writes it in an intelligent way. It’s clear to me that he is a smart man. The story was very good, very interesting, and unique. The characters were well-developed. While it is science heavy, the average person will still be able to enjoy the story. I’m rating this book a 4.5 instead of a five merely because it didn’t have that extra something that made me fall in love with it.
Date published: 2015-04-08

Editorial Reviews

“[An] engrossing and illuminating sci-fi thriller…. This is the way sci-fi ought to be.” —WALL STREET JOURNAL   “An expanding universe of delight.” —WASHINGTON POST  “Gripping, suspenseful and original, this is a page-turning novel that readers are sure to devour. Fantastic” —RT BOOK REVIEWS“An utterly addictive murder mystery with a fantastic twist…. A cleverly thought-out bit of sci-fi fun.”—STARBURST MAGAZINE“A truly fascinating approach to thriller writing.… The story’s strength lies in its ingenious structure that neatly unfolds against an impressive backdrop of science.” —THE BIG THRILL   “Walton delivers fast-paced action, suspense, and riveting mystery—all of it spinning about a core of vivid, speculative science. Enjoy some tense, imaginative fun.” —DAVID BRIN, PhD, Hugo and Nebula Award-winning author of Existence"David Walton is one of our very best writers of science-fiction thrillers."—ROBERT J. SAWYER, Hugo Award-winning author of Quantum Night“David Walton takes a huge leap of imagination and spins an engaging, sometimes dizzying, web of ‘What if?’”   —STANLEY SCHMIDT, author and long-time editor of Analog Science Fiction and Fact“Superposition is a wild ride into the quantum world, a fabulous twist on the murder mystery. In Walton’s hands, physics comes to life, literally! Like nothing you’ve ever read before.”   —WILL McINTOSH, Hugo Award-winning author of Defenders  “A mind-bending science fiction murder mystery that will appeal to fans of Michael Crichton and Philip K. Dick. I devoured it in one sitting.” —TINA CONNOLLY, Nebula Award nominee and author of Silverblind “Superposition is a fine blending of high-tech science fiction and the mystery novel, a concept that Isaac Asimov might have come up with were he alive today.” —MIKE RESNICK, Hugo Award-winning author of The Fortress in Orion and the Eli Paxton mystery series “A fast, fun, immersive mystery in the quantum realm. Walton's captivating writing will draw you in, the murder mystery will keep you reading, and you'll finish with a better understanding of quantum physics.” —WILLIAM HERTLING, author of Turing's Exception “The most thrilling and ingenious adventure in quantum physics you’ll ever read!” —JOEL SHEPHERD, author of Originator: A Cassandra Kresnov Novel