Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

Symptoms of Being Human

byJeff Garvin

Hardcover | February 2, 2016

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.96 online 
$21.99
Earn 100 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.

Details & Specs

Title:Symptoms of Being HumanFormat:HardcoverDimensions:352 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.13 inPublished:February 2, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062382861

ISBN - 13:9780062382863

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Symptoms of Being Human

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“An important introduction for readers who know little about gender fluidity and a welcome nod to those who may be experiencing similar feelings.”