Symptoms Of Being Human by Jeff GarvinSymptoms Of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

Symptoms Of Being Human

byJeff Garvin

Paperback | November 14, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.12 online 
$12.50 list price save 11%
Earn 56 plum® points

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow List

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be human.

Before becoming a writer, Jeff Garvin acted in films and TV and toured as the front man of a nationally touring rock band. He has a BFA in Film from Chapman University and lives in Southern California, surrounded by adorable, shedding beasts. Symptoms of Being Human is his first novel.
Symptoms Of Being Human
Symptoms Of Being Human

by Jeff Garvin

$40.45$45.50

In stock online

Not available in stores

Title:Symptoms Of Being HumanFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.79 inPublished:November 14, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006238287X

ISBN - 13:9780062382870

Customer Reviews of Symptoms Of Being Human

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“An important introduction for readers who know little about gender fluidity and a welcome nod to those who may be experiencing similar feelings.”