Symptoms Of Being Human by Jeff GarvinSymptoms Of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

Symptoms Of Being Human

byJeff Garvin

Paperback | November 14, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.45 online 
$12.50 list price save 8%
Earn 57 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow List

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be human.

Before becoming a writer, Jeff Garvin acted in films and TV and toured as the front man of a nationally touring rock band. He has a BFA in Film from Chapman University and lives in Southern California, surrounded by adorable, shedding beasts. Symptoms of Being Human is his first novel.
Loading
Title:Symptoms Of Being HumanFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.79 inPublished:November 14, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006238287X

ISBN - 13:9780062382870

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really good! A very interesting and informing look into gender fluidity with strong, well developed characters.
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Book! I bought this a few months ago and loved it. The characters are compelling, and its a great representation of how it feels to be a closeted kid not on the gender spectrum. I would recommend this to anyone
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Great Entertaining and I truly admired the consistency of they them pronouns throughout the entire book leaving mystery to whether they were AFAB or AMAB which is how it should be. Definitely recommend to anyone who identifies out of the gender binary.
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok nonetheless, it was entertaining and definitely kept me interested
Date published: 2017-11-19

Editorial Reviews

“An important introduction for readers who know little about gender fluidity and a welcome nod to those who may be experiencing similar feelings.”