Symptoms Of Being Human by Jeff GarvinSymptoms Of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

Symptoms Of Being Human

byJeff Garvin

Paperback | November 14, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.68 online 
$12.50 list price save 14%
Earn 53 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow List

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be human.

Before becoming a writer, Jeff Garvin acted in films and TV and toured as the front man of a nationally touring rock band. He has a BFA in Film from Chapman University and lives in Southern California, surrounded by adorable, shedding beasts. Symptoms of Being Human is his first novel.
Loading
Title:Symptoms Of Being HumanFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.79 inPublished:November 14, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006238287X

ISBN - 13:9780062382870

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok nonetheless, it was entertaining and definitely kept me interested
Date published: 2017-11-19

Editorial Reviews

“An important introduction for readers who know little about gender fluidity and a welcome nod to those who may be experiencing similar feelings.”