Tennessee Williams: Plays 1957-1980: 1957-1980 by Tennessee WilliamsTennessee Williams: Plays 1957-1980: 1957-1980 by Tennessee Williams

Tennessee Williams: Plays 1957-1980: 1957-1980

byTennessee WilliamsEditorMel Gussow, Kenneth Holditch

Hardcover | October 1, 2000

Pricing and Purchase Info

$38.11 online 
$42.00 list price save 9%
Earn 191 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Exploring human passion with daring and unflinching honesty, Tennessee Williams forged a poetic theater of raw psychological insight that fused realism and expressionism. Now, in an authoritative two-volume edition, The Library of America collects the plays that reveal a prophetic figure in American life and letters—a writer of generous sympathies and uncompromising frankness who reached wide audiences with plays that revolutionized the themes and styles of the modern theater. This second volume traces Williams's career as it evolved in his adventurous and sometimes shocking later works, including Orpheus Descending, Suddenly Last Summer, and Sweet Bird of Youth, plays that stirred controversy when first produced because of their concern with acts of horrific violence; the satiric marital comedy Period of Adjustment; The Night of the Iguana, a moving drama set in Mexico that contains some of Williams's most lyric writing, and The Eccentricities of a Nightingale, a re-imagining of the earlier Summer and Smoke.

The Milk Train Doesn't Stop Here Anymore, with its use of Kabuki-like stylization, began a more experimental phase of Williams's writing, represented here by Kingdom of Earth (also known as The Seven Descents of Myrtle), The Mutilated, Small Craft Warnings, and Out Cry. In late plays such as A Lovely Sunday for Creve Coeur and the autobiographical Vieux Carré, Williams returned to many of his earlier themes and settings.

This edition includes a newly researched chronology of Tennessee Williams's life, explanatory notes (including cast lists of many of the original productions), and an essay on the texts.
This volume is edited by Mel Gussow (1933–2005), who was a drama critic, a cultural writer at The New York Times, and author of several books including Edward Albee: A Singular Journey, and by Kenneth Holditch, professor emeritus at the University of New Orleans, editor since 1989 of the Tennessee Williams Journal, and the author of In...
Title:Tennessee Williams: Plays 1957-1980: 1957-1980Format:HardcoverDimensions:975 pages, 8.2 × 5.1 × 1.33 inPublished:October 1, 2000Publisher:Library Of AmericaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1883011876

ISBN - 13:9781883011871

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

Plays 1957-1980Orpheus Descending
Suddenly Last Summer
Sweet Bird of Youth
Period of Adjustment
The Night of the Iguana
The Eccentricities of a Nightingale
The Milk Train Doesn't Stop Here Anymore
The Mutilated
Kingdom of Earth (The Seven Descents of Myrtle)
Small Craft Warnings
Out Cry
Vieux Carré
A Lovely Sunday for Creve Coeur

Note on the Texts