The Abhorsen Chronicles by Garth NixThe Abhorsen Chronicles by Garth Nix

The Abhorsen Chronicles

byGarth Nix

Paperback | December 30, 2008

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.94 online 
$24.99 list price save 8%
Earn 115 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


This paperback collection contains the complete text of the first three beloved bestselling books in Garth's Nix's Old Kingdom series: Sabriel, Lirael, and Abhorsen.

Every step brings Sabriel closer to a battle that will pit her against the true forces of life and death—and bring her face-to-face with her own destiny.

With only her faithful companion the Disreputable Dog, Lirael must undertake a desperate mission under the growing shadow of an ancient evil, which threatens the fate of the Old Kingdom.

The Abhorsen Sabriel and King Touchstone are missing, and Lirael must search in both Life and Death for some means to defeat the evil Destroyer—before it is too late.

Garth Nix grew up in Canberra, Australia. Besides being a full-time writer, he has worked as a sales rep, publicist, editor, marketing communications consultant, literary agent, and part-time soldier. He is the author of Sabriel, Lirael, and Abhorsen, the books in the internationally bestselling Abhorsen trilogy, as well as Shade's Chi...
Title:The Abhorsen ChroniclesFormat:PaperbackDimensions:1232 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.97 inPublished:December 30, 2008Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061441821

ISBN - 13:9780061441820

Appropriate for ages: 13 - 17

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely more than a kids book I picked up Lirael out of the kids section of my library about 6 years ago. When it was time to take it back, it didn't stay in the library to long. I fell in love with the book, and when I finally got Sabriel and Abhorsen, I fell in love with those books as well. All three are very well written, and I think the one thing that really drew me into Lirael was that it seemed like three books all wrapped up in one. The way all three books are very well written, and they way they are done, talking about life and death don't make them seem much like kids books. The premise of Lirael, I found, after saving the world seemed to be finding where someone fit in. And finding their family. The book switched back between two different characters, Lirael, whom the book was named for, and Sameth, who is the prince of the country. The story line following Lirael is all about her life, and how she gets a job in her "city" when she is fourteen. It also talks about how she finds/ creates her friend around that time. Shortly after the book talks about her brush with death and finally meeting her great-grandmother, the book switches over and goes to Sameth's point of view. Sameths part of the book follows his graduation from school, to him going back into his kingdom and him supposed to be reading the book that is going to be his trade in later life. Meanwhile all he really wants to do is make toys with his magic. The first part of his story ends with Sam close to death in the middle of a forest. The book finally ends with both Lirael and Sam together, and the revelation that Lirael is Sam's aunt, and is the successor to his mother's job.
Date published: 2009-12-07