The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

The Age of Innocence

byEdith Wharton

Kobo ebook | April 26, 2013

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


The Age of Innocence is Edith Wharton's 12th novel, published in 1920, which won the 1921 Pulitzer Prize. The story is set in upper-class New York City in the 1870s. In 1920, The Age of Innocence was serialized in four parts in the Pictorial Review magazine, and later released by D. Appleton and Company as a book in New York and in London.

[Film, TV or theatrical adaptations]

• In 1924, a silent film film adaptation was released by Warner Brothers, directed by Wesley Ruggles, and starring Beverly Bayne as Countess Olenska and Elliott Dexter as Newland Archer.
• In 1928, Margaret Ayer Barnes adapted the novel into a play, first produced on Broadway, starring Katharine Cornell as Countess Ellen Olenska.
• In 1934, an eponymous film adaptation directed for RKO Studios by Philip Moeller (based upon the 1920 novel and 1928 play), starring Irene Dunne as Countess Ellen Olenska and John Boles as Newland Archer.
• In 1993, an eponymous film adaptation, The Age of Innocence, was directed by Martin Scorsese, starring Michelle Pfeiffer as Countess Ellen Olenska, Daniel Day-Lewis as Newland Archer, Winona Ryder as May Welland Archer,Richard E. Grant, and Miriam Margolyes. Ryder won a Golden Globe Award for her portrayal of May Welland Archer, and the film won an Oscar for costume design.

Title:The Age of InnocenceFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:April 26, 2013Publisher:Starbooks Classics PublishingLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:


Look for similar items by category:


Rated 4 out of 5 by from D An enjoyable read.
Date published: 2014-08-05