The Art of Being Human: Life, Family, and Creativity by Deborah RavetzThe Art of Being Human: Life, Family, and Creativity by Deborah Ravetz

The Art of Being Human: Life, Family, and Creativity

byDeborah Ravetz

Paperback | March 17, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.16 online 
$17.95 list price save 9%
Earn 81 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Deborah Ravetz explores the territory of our inner landscape by showing us that it is only through embracing and working with all aspects of our selves, including our vulnerability and pain, that we give meaning and experience joy. Through telling her own story and those of others who have faced their demons and worked through their struggles, she helps us to embark on the journey that all of us need to make in order to become fully ourselves. Packed with applicable strategies for spiritual development and practice, this book serves to empower and cultivate holistic wellbeing.
Deborah Ravetz has studied art, philosophy, and literature as part of her quest to understand what it means to be human. She sees the whole realm of art and ideas in this light; they embody our attempt to live deeply.She works as a lecturer specialising in Art and the Development of Consciousness, and also as a painter and a Social Scu...
Title:The Art of Being Human: Life, Family, and CreativityFormat:PaperbackDimensions:160 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.68 inPublished:March 17, 2016Publisher:Jessica Kingsley PublishersLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1908363150

ISBN - 13:9781908363152

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

Foreward. Chapter 1: Finding the Form. Chapter 2: An Archaeology of the Soul. Chapter 3: Dark Clouds Gather. Chapter 4: Breakdown. Chapter 5: Boarding School and England. Chapter 6: The Power of Books. Chapter 7: University Years. Chapter 8: Finding Community. Chapter 9: Dying and Becoming. Chapter 10: The Conversation. Chapter 11: Embracing Vulnerability. Chapter 12: Love and Power. Chapter 13: Truth and Reconciliation. Chapter 14: Questioning the Good Life. Chapter 15: Auschwitz. Chapter 16: Social Sculpture: The Self as a Work of Art. Chapter 17: Final Pieces fall into Place. Chapter 18: Widening Circles.

Editorial Reviews

Deborah has given us a great gift by writing about her experience and reflections so thoughtfully and touchingly. Her text is so honest and lyrical that it cannot but inspire us. - From the foreword by Adam Kahane, director of Reos Partners and author of Power and Love: A Theory and Practice of Social Change