The Dangerous Art Of Blending In by Angelo SurmelisThe Dangerous Art Of Blending In by Angelo Surmelis

The Dangerous Art Of Blending In

byAngelo Surmelis

Hardcover | January 30, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.57 online 
$21.99 list price save 11%
Earn 98 plum® points
Quantity:

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

A raw, powerful, but ultimately uplifting debut novel perfect for fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe from debut author Angelo Surmelis.

Seventeen-year-old Evan Panos doesn’t know where he fits in. His strict immigrant Greek mother refuses to see him as anything but a disappointment. His quiet, workaholic father is a staunch believer in avoiding any kind of conflict. And his best friend, Henry, has somehow become distractingly attractive over the summer.

Tired, isolated, scared—Evan finds that his only escape is to draw in an abandoned monastery that feels as lonely as he is. And yes, he kissed one guy over the summer. But it’s Henry who’s now proving to be irresistible. Henry, who suddenly seems interested in being more than friends. And it’s Henry who makes him believe that he deserves more than his mother’s harsh words and terrifying abuse.

But as things with Henry heat up, and his mother’s abuse escalates, Evan has to decide how to find his voice in a world where he has survived so long by being silent.

This is a powerful and revelatory coming-of-age novel based on the author’s own childhood, about a boy who learns to step into his light.

Angelo Surmelis was raised in Greece until he immigrated to Illinois at the age of five. He currently lives in Los Angeles. An award-winning designer, Surmelis has been featured on over 50 television shows, including The Today Show, Extra, as well as in magazines such as InStyle, TV Guide and Entertainment Weekly. He has worked as a ho...
Loading
Title:The Dangerous Art Of Blending InFormat:HardcoverDimensions:336 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.98 inPublished:January 30, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062659006

ISBN - 13:9780062659002

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“[A] poignant, sometimes explosive debut”