The Art Of Not Breathing

Hardcover | April 26, 2016

bySarah Alexander

not yet rated|write a review
A heartbreaking debut about love, guilt, and the ties that bind. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Lauren Oliver.Since her twin brother, Eddie, drowned five years ago, sixteen-year-old Elsie Main has tried to remember what really happened that fateful day on the beach. One minute Eddie was there, and the next he was gone. Seventeen-year-old Tay McKenzie is a cute and mysterious boy that Elsie meets in her favorite boathouse hangout. When Tay introduces Elsie to the world of freediving, she vows to find the answers she seeks at the bottom of the sea.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.95 online
$25.50 list price (save 17%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

A heartbreaking debut about love, guilt, and the ties that bind. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Lauren Oliver.Since her twin brother, Eddie, drowned five years ago, sixteen-year-old Elsie Main has tried to remember what really happened that fateful day on the beach. One minute Eddie was there, and the next he was gone. Seventeen-...

Sarah Alexander has previously worked as a tomato picker, travel consultant and mental-health support worker. She has completed an MA in Creative Writing at Birkbeck College with Distinction, and now works in publishing in London.

other books by Sarah Alexander

Chocolate: A Global History
Chocolate: A Global History

Kobo ebook|Sep 15 2009

$16.19 online$20.93list price(save 22%)
3. JuLiP
3. JuLiP

Kobo ebook|Mar 3 2017

$9.99

The Journey Prize Stories 23
The Journey Prize Stories 23

Kobo ebook|Sep 27 2011

$9.99

see all books by Sarah Alexander
Format:HardcoverDimensions:288 pages, 8.49 × 7.83 × 1.01 inPublished:April 26, 2016Publisher:Houghton Mifflin HarcourtLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0544633881

ISBN - 13:9780544633889

Customer Reviews of The Art Of Not Breathing

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Alexander movingly traces the motions of family members trying to piece their lives back together while dealing with personal demons. Candidly written and balanced by notes of humor throughout, Elsie's journey to find the truth shows just how far she's willing to go to bring her family back from the depths of tragedy." - Publishers Weekly "Of special note is the intriguing description of the silent undersea world. Here Elsie finds the courage to face her fears and break free of her family's dysfunction. Elsie herself is a sympathetic, believable protagonist whose unsentimental narrative voice documents her family's descent as they uncover the truth behind Eddie's death." - Booklist "While the compelling plot, well-drawn characters, and page-turning conclusion will attract readers, what will linger most in their minds is the luxurious feel of the water and other details vividly evoked by Alexander's atmospheric writing." - School Library Journal "Narrated in a crisp, unvarnished voice, Elsie's frightening and alluring tale shows that even while in the depths one can reach for light. In a breathtaking setting, this is a fresh and vivid take on the long-term effects of a child's death on a family." - Kirkus Reviews "This book was absolutely captivating. Sarah Alexander perfectly combines mystery, romance and adventure into an exciting story that really tugs on your heartstrings. I felt like I was transported into another world." -Christina M., 16 (Girls Life reader) "