The Artificial Silk Girl

byIrmgard Keun, Maria TatarTranslated byKatharina Ankum

August 9, 2016|
The Artificial Silk Girl by Irmgard Keun
$14.99
Audio Book (CD)
Earn 75 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Out of stock online.
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
Not sold in stores
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

Before Sex and the City there was Bridget Jones. And before Bridget Jones was The Artificial Silk Girl.

In 1931, a young woman writer living in Germany was inspired by Anita Loos''s Gentlemen Prefer Blondes to describe pre-war Berlin and the age of cinematic glamour through the eyes of a woman. The resulting novel, The Artificial Silk Girl, became an acclaimed bestseller and a masterwork of German literature, in the tradition of Christopher Isherwood''s Berlin Stories and Bertolt Brecht''s Three Penny Opera. Like Isherwood and Brecht, Keun revealed the dark underside of Berlin''s "golden twenties" with empathy and honesty. Unfortunately, a Nazi censorship board banned Keun''s work in 1933 and destroyed all existing copies of The Artificial Silk Girl. Only one English translation was published, in Great Britain, before the book disappeared in the chaos of the ensuing war. Today, more than seven decades later, the story of this quintessential "material girl" remains as relevant as ever, as an accessible new translation brings this lost classic to light once more. Other Press is pleased to announce the republication of The Artificial Silk Girl, elegantly translated by noted Germanist Kathie von Ankum, and with a new introduction by Harvard professor Maria Tatar.

No BioNo BioNo BioNo Bio
Loading
Title:The Artificial Silk Girl
Format:Audio Book (CD)
Product dimensions:6.75 X 5.25 X 0.5 in
Shipping dimensions:6.75 X 5.25 X 0.5 in
Published:August 9, 2016
Publisher:Brilliance Audio
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781531800215

Recently Viewed
|