The Best Of Adam Sharp: A Novel by Graeme SimsionThe Best Of Adam Sharp: A Novel by Graeme Simsion

The Best Of Adam Sharp: A Novel

byGraeme Simsion

Paperback | April 11, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.56 online 
$22.99 list price save 10%
Earn 103 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Sliding Doors meets High Fidelity.” —AU Review

From the #1 bestselling author of The Rosie Project and The Rosie Effect, an unforgettable new novel about lost love and second chances. A must-read for fans of Nick Hornby and Karen Joy Fowler.

A man settled into his routines, Adam Sharp is content. He’s happy with his partner, Claire, he’s the music expert at trivia night at the pub, he looks after his mother and he does the occasional consulting job in IT—but there’s something he can never quite shake off.

And that’s his nostalgia for what might have been, his blazing affair more than twenty years ago with Angelina Brown, a smart and sexy, strong-willed actress who taught him for the first time, as he played piano and she sang, what it meant to find—and then lose—love. How different might his life be if he hadn’t let her walk away?

And then, out of nowhere, from the other side of the world, Angelina gets in touch. What does she want? Adam has sung about second chances, but does he have the courage to believe in them?

The Best of Adam Sharp is about growing old and feeling young, about happy times and sad memories, about staying together and drifting apart, but most of all, it’s about the power of the songs we sing when we fall in love.

 

Graeme Simsion was born in Auckland, New Zealand. His education includes a BSc, GDipC and IS from Monash University, an MBA from Deakin University, a PhD from University of Melbourne, an Advanced Diploma of Screenwriting from RMIT, and a 2014 Diploma of Professional Writing and Editing, RMIT. His Ph.D thesis, Data Modeling: Description...
Loading
Title:The Best Of Adam Sharp: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:384 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.96 inPublished:April 11, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1443435937

ISBN - 13:9781443435932

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from okay a very light easy fun read.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A fun read This book was entertaining and was an easy read to get through. I did not enjoy it as much as his other books so I think I was a little disappointed reading this one.
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An Easy Read I've enjoyed reading this book while taking the bus and as a way to relax in the summer. The story line is cute, but the narration jumps back and forth a far bit which can be hard to follow. I am enjoying it but not in love with it.
Date published: 2017-09-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good While a good read, this is certainly very different from the 'Rosie' books, and not quite as loveable. I feel that I would only suggest it to a select audience. #plumreview
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cant tell if I liked this When I got into this book I kept thinking.. if I knew this was the idea I wouldnt have bought it. However.. with so many stories being similar out there (or maybe I choose a lot of the same) I was invigorated that this led me a different way. We can all relate to the complexities of love and old feelings so I was curious to see how it would end. Someone else mentioned the "50 shades of gray" feel which I didn't expect and didnt really like.. but in the context at the end i think it fits and was ok. Id still recommend. Rosie was more charismatic but this had deep dark character to it
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Was... ok... I was excited to read this book as The Rosie series was good. But I was disappointed. A story of lost love, I was lost during some of the story. It just didn't fit. The playlist is great, but the plot not so much. It dragged on at times, and other moments I was confused.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as his other books I loved the Rosie books, but this book was a disappointment. Adam is a middle aged child living in the past. When he gets a chance to reunite with his first love, the story takes on a 50 Shades of Grey theme. The ending is weak and predictable. The only part I enjoyed is the authors taste in music.
Date published: 2017-06-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Best of Adam Sharp What I really tuned into is the role music plays in their lives, the way songs are seen to underpin memories, love, loss, pain, regrets and deeply imprinting life changing events within this novel. This resonates with my experience of the role music has had in my life. Specific songs and lyrics in the book make a statement, lay bare the innermost thoughts and longings that have yet to be acknowledged consciously, lock in the connections to a particular person, a period of time and so much more. Adam connects with a father that walked out on the family through music and his playing of the piano. Music is the tool to dissect relationships, coming to understand relationships and the hidden currents that run beneath the surface. And when all is said and done, whatever happens they will always have music to console and rebuild. All hail the glory and power of music! Many thanks to Penguin Michael Joseph for an ARC.
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reading a book with a playlist :) I liked this book, I know a lot of people have compared it to the Rosie Project, (which I haven't read yet, so I can't compare). I really liked this book for what it was, and I liked how the author provided the playlist of songs that were mentioned throughout the book at the very end.
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as Rosie Project as Rosie Effect I really loved the nostalgic feel of the book with the oldies music and memory-lane style of writing. I liked Adam, the main character, but HATED Angelina. She came across as selfish, spoiled, and unable to make good decisions for most of the book.Overall, some parts were great, others not so much. Just ok :/
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing This was not like his other novels, they were a bit disappointing and the characters lacked interest.
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Liked it Read the authors review and went out and bought it without knowing anything about the Rosie project. As a music teacher I like the theme around classic rock and being in my 50s know the music. for me the book reminds me in places of Telegraph Avenue by Michael Chabon specifically because of the underlying music content. If you like music and a good story you'll love this book.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's real Initially the main character seemed difficult for me to engage with or understand, but I gave him a chance, and about 2/5 of the way into the book I found myself wanting to get back to the story whenever I wasn't reading. Halfway through I downloaded the Spotify app on my iPad, which I had been hesitant to do, and played the suggested playlist as I read and drank wine. This was a new experience, this connecting music, and I found it informed me to the character's past as well as my own. So by the time I turned the page to Part Two, I was invested in the character and his story, and time travelling back to high school and university days in the 70s, and a lot of memories of my life long ago. I can't say I totally liked the character, and he certainly made some weird choices, but it was real. The element of dedicated music to the story just added another level because of the author's obvious close connection and thorough knowledge of the music and the lyrics, and the writers thereof. My one quotation from this book: "Whatever I had lost, there was still music." Primal.
Date published: 2017-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Endearing and Witty Graeme Simsion delivers another endearing and witty character in Adam Sharp who explores the possibility of a life extraordinary.
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm the author - but you might find this useful if you're thinking of buying I'm the author, so of course I've given it five stars. I wouldn't have sent it to the publisher if I wasn't happy with it. But will you like it? Most people come to this book having read THE ROSIE PROJECT and almost every review I've read makes the comparison. So, the first thing you need to know is that it's different. It's not a conventional romance / romantic comedy - though it is a book about love and relationships. There's a bit of sex in it (and one rather confronting scene) but no more than in a lot of contemporary fiction - just a bit of a surprise if you're expecting ROSIE. But it's still my writing style, a male point of view on love and loss, and (I hope) a healthy dose of humour. Popular music is a theme throughout, and I wrote it with a soundtrack in mind - my screenwriting history coming through. If you - our someone you know - likes 'classic rock' especially from the 60s and 70s, they'll probably enjoy this book. What's it about? Well, basically, Adam's great lost love comes back into his life - but Adam's in a long-term relationship. I wanted to put romantic love up against long-term committed love - and Adam will ultimately have to make a choice between the two. At a deeper level, I wanted to explore how we deal with the past , and many of the characters are trying to do that in their different ways. So, here's what my readers tell me: Those who like / love the book (sometimes more than the Rosie books): Are interested in complicated relationships (some great feedback from psychologists!) Often have been in a long-term relationship themselves (so understand how love changes) Love the soundtrack! Those who wish I'd written another Rosie Project instead often tell me that they Read largely romance - and were hoping for another one Don't like books which feature infidelity / unconventional behavior Don't like the lead female character - who, at least superficially, is a bit of a prima donna. The good news is that you'll probably finish it. Even the readers who don't like some aspects of it keep turning the pages. I'm happy with that. If they end up saying how much they disagree with what one (or more) of the characters did, then I've at least prompted some thinking! So, obviously I'd like you to give it a try. Just put THE ROSIE PROJECT and THE ROSIE EFFECT out of your mind, treat it gently (physically) and after, if you decide not to keep it, you've got a present for that guy who loves the Beatles or Dylan or the Stones or Tom Waits or Jackson Browne. Trust me, they'll be fine with it! Hope that helps Graeme Simsion
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this! Such a great novel, I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2017-04-10

Editorial Reviews

Sliding Doors meets High Fidelity. . . . Simsion paints a detailed and entertaining portrait of a flawed and wistful man who wants a romance to be more than a silly love song.”