The Big Scrum: How Teddy Roosevelt Saved Football by John J. MillerThe Big Scrum: How Teddy Roosevelt Saved Football by John J. Miller

The Big Scrum: How Teddy Roosevelt Saved Football

byJohn J. Miller

Paperback | April 17, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.99

Earn 100 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

John J. Miller delivers the intriguing, never-before-told story of how Theodore Roosevelt saved American Football—a game that would become the nation’s most popular sport. Miller’s sweeping, novelistic retelling captures the violent, nearly lawless days of late 19th century football and the public outcry that would have ended the great game but for a crucial Presidential intervention. Teddy Roosevelt’s championing of football led to the creation of the NCAA, the innovation of the forward pass, a vital collaboration between Walter Camp, Charles W. Eliot, John Heisman and others, and, ultimately, the creation of a new American pastime. Perfect for readers of Douglas Brinkley’s Wilderness Warrior, Michael Lewis’s The Blind Side, and Conn and Hal Iggulden’s The Dangerous Book for Boys, Miller’s The Big Scrum reclaims from the shadows of obscurity a remarkable story of one defining moment in our nation’s history.

John J. Miller is director of the Dow Journalism Program at Hillsdale College, national correspondent forNational Review, a contributor to theWall Street Journal, and the author of five books, including the novelThe First Assassin.
Loading
Title:The Big Scrum: How Teddy Roosevelt Saved FootballFormat:PaperbackDimensions:272 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.61 inPublished:April 17, 2012Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061744522

ISBN - 13:9780061744525

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“[Miller] is on target with a necessarily selective biography highlighting Roosevelt’s lifelong affinity for sports and physical activity, thereby providing context for understanding why a president would devote valuable time to what was then a minor sport. [An] enjoyable history of a seldom-explored turning point in American sports history.”