The Blinds: A Novel by Adam SternberghThe Blinds: A Novel by Adam Sternbergh

The Blinds: A Novel

byAdam Sternbergh

Hardcover | August 1, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$30.67 online 
$33.50 list price save 8%
Earn 153 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

From the Edgar Award-nominated author of Shovel Ready, a blistering new thriller that Dennis Lehane calls “propulsive and meaningful”

For fans of Cormac McCarthy, Jim Thompson, the Coen Brothers, and Lost

Imagine a place populated by criminals—people plucked from their lives, with their memories altered, who’ve been granted new identities and a second chance. Welcome to The Blinds, a dusty town in rural Texas populated by misfits who don’t know if they’ve perpetrated a crime or just witnessed one. What’s clear to them is that if they leave, they will end up dead.

     For eight years, Sheriff Calvin Cooper has kept an uneasy peace—but after a suicide and a murder in quick succession, the town’s residents revolt. Cooper has his own secrets to protect, so when his new deputy starts digging, he needs to keep one step ahead of her—and the mysterious outsiders who threaten to tear the whole place down. The more he learns, the more the hard truth is revealed: The Blinds is no sleepy hideaway. It’s simmering with violence and deception, aching heartbreak and dark betrayals.

Adam Sternbergh is a contributing editor for New York and Vulture, as well as the Edgar-nominated author of the novels Shovel Ready and Near Enemy. He lives in Brooklyn.
Loading
Title:The Blinds: A NovelFormat:HardcoverDimensions:400 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.25 inPublished:August 1, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062661345

ISBN - 13:9780062661340

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific I bet this will be made into a movie!
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good not great for this reader 3.5 The premise of Adam Sternbergh's new novel The Blinds, intrigued me..... An isolated small town in Texas, home to those who can't remember why they were sent there. In their past lives, they were either criminals or witnesses. Now, their memories have been wiped out and they live in the town they refer to as The Blinds. They'll live and die there, as the agreement they made ensures they can't leave. But, after eight fairly peaceful years, Sheriff Cooper has trouble on his doorstep. A suicide, a murder and strangers arriving in town have upset the rhythm and routine of the town...... The Blinds has a distinctly unique plot driving the book forward. There was no way to even begin to predict where things might go. Carrying that plot forward are a fairly large number of residents. Those residents are only known by the names they chose when they arrived - a combination of a movie star and a President's name. (This alone fulfills the publisher's note that the book will appeal to Coen Brothers fans) I wondered if anyone remembered their before - or was there anyone there who didn't have their memory wiped? I found it was hard to really connect with the characters as they have no back story, no memories, no reasons - they are simply marking time until....? What are these government looking guys after? Their arrival did open up the possibility that we would learn more. And we definitely do - but truthfully I wasn't that invested by the time answers finally came. And maybe its because of my pragmatic nature, but I found the ending a bit hard to buy, as well as some of the later plot devices that led to the final resolutions. This was just an okay read for me, but I may be in the minority on this one - there are many who loved it. The Blinds defies being slotted into a genre. It's part mystery and thriller along with some sci-fi and Western overtones
Date published: 2017-09-03

Editorial Reviews

The Blinds is a wild, fever-dream of a novel. Posing questions about the power-and peril-of running from the past, Sternbergh’s vivid vision and the people he brings to life will haunt you long after you turn the shocking final pages.”