The Book Of Numbers by Robert Deane PharrThe Book Of Numbers by Robert Deane Pharr

The Book Of Numbers

byRobert Deane Pharr

Paperback | June 1, 2001

Pricing and Purchase Info

$31.12 online 
$53.95 list price save 42%
Earn 156 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

In the tradition of Chester Himes and Walter Mosley, Robert Deane Pharr's novel tells the tale of two black men, Dave and Blueboy, traveling waiters who establish themselves as numbers runners in a fictionalized Richmond of the 1930s. Published to great acclaim in 1969, The Book of Numbers centers on powerful themes of truth and illusion, myth and legend, and vividly conveys a sense of African American life on the periphery of white society. The new Virginia edition complements Pharr's text with an afterword by the Washington Post editor Jabari Asim.
Title:The Book Of NumbersFormat:PaperbackDimensions:392 pages, 8.25 × 5.57 × 0.85 inPublished:June 1, 2001Publisher:University Press Of VirginiaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0813920469

ISBN - 13:9780813920467

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews