The Book of the Twelve Prophets by David R. SlavittThe Book of the Twelve Prophets by David R. Slavitt

The Book of the Twelve Prophets

Translated byDavid R. Slavitt

Hardcover | November 15, 1999

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 568 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


This is a glittering new translation of the portion of the Hebrew Bible known as the Book of the Twelve Prophets, or the Twelve "Minor" Prophets. In the Bible, the books of the prophets are arranged in rough order of length. The present group of writings thus appears after the so-called"major" prophets (Isaiah, Jeremiah, and Ezekiel), and includes the much shorter texts of Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habbakuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi. At the time when all biblical books were written on scrolls, these twelve brief prophetic texts weretraditionally written on a single scroll, and so came to be considered a single book. "Minor" with respect to length only, they are from the literary point of view some of the most interesting texts in the Bible--passionate, visionary, and written with genuine literary sophistication. DavidSlavitt's brilliant modern translation breathes fresh life into these powerful ancient texts.
David R. Slavitt is a renowned poet, novelist, journalist, critic, and translator who has taught at Princeton University and the University of Pennsylvania and now lives in Philadelphia.
Title:The Book of the Twelve ProphetsFormat:HardcoverDimensions:160 pages, 8.31 × 5.59 × 0.91 inPublished:November 15, 1999Publisher:Oxford University Press

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0195132149

ISBN - 13:9780195132144