The Boomerang Effect

Hardcover | November 8, 2016

byGordon Jack

not yet rated|write a review

A hilariously subversive YA debut that explores the meaning of friendship and loyalty, and also why you should avoid being trapped in a small space with an angry chicken. Perfect for fans of Andrew Smith’s Winger and Frank Portman’s King Dork.

It all started with a harmless prank. But now high school junior Lawrence Barry is one step away from reform school unless he participates in a mentorship program. His mentee? Spencer Knudsen, a Norwegian exchange student with Spock-like intelligence but the social skills of the periodic table.

Then disaster strikes. Homecoming Week. When someone dressed as the school Viking mascot starts destroying the fairytale-inspired floats, all suspicion falls on Lawrence. Add to the mix a demon Goth girl, a Renaissance LARPing group, an overzealous yearbook editor, and three vindictive chickens, and Lawrence soon realizes that his situation may be a little out of control. But Spencer seems to have some answers. In fact, Spencer may be the one friend Lawrence never knew he needed.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.96 online
$21.99 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

A hilariously subversive YA debut that explores the meaning of friendship and loyalty, and also why you should avoid being trapped in a small space with an angry chicken. Perfect for fans of Andrew Smith’s Winger and Frank Portman’s King Dork.It all started with a harmless prank. But now high school junior Lawrence Barry is one step aw...

Format:HardcoverDimensions:352 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.13 inPublished:November 8, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006239939X

ISBN - 13:9780062399397

Customer Reviews of The Boomerang Effect

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Lawrence’s back story feels genuine, and readers will feel sympathy for him. His self-conscious humor is funny. The upbeat ending fits well.”