The Boys In The Boat: Nine Americans And Their Epic Quest For Gold At The 1936 Berlin Olympics

Audio Book (CD) | June 4, 2013

byDaniel James BrownRead byEdward Herrmann

not yet rated|write a review
The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the forthcoming PBS documentary “Boys of ‘36”

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$39.74 online
$52.50 list price (save 24%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

It seems when we see an athlete in the news today, the story is as often about scandal or big salaries as it is for their achievement on the field, court, or water. Cynicism and the business of athletes have taken centre stage leaving the nobility of sport as a bit player. Enter The Boys in the Boat - a magnificent book that stands up and u...

see all heather's picks

From the Publisher

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the forthcoming PBS documentary “Boys of ‘36”For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, i...

Daniel James Brown is the author of two previous nonfiction books, The Indifferent Stars Above and Under a Flaming Sky, which was a finalist for a Barnes & Noble Discover Award. He has taught writing at San Jose State University and Stanford University. He lives outside Seattle.

other books by Daniel James Brown

The Boys In The Boat: Nine Americans And Their Epic Quest For Gold At The 1936 Berlin Olympics
The Boys In The Boat: Nine Americans And Their Epic Que...

Paperback|Jul 26 2016

$11.56 online$12.99list price(save 11%)
The Boys In The Boat (young Readers Adaptation): The True Story Of An American Team's Epic Journey…
The Boys In The Boat (young Readers Adaptation): The Tr...

Hardcover|Sep 8 2015

$23.93 online$23.99list price
see all books by Daniel James Brown
Format:Audio Book (CD)Dimensions:1 pages, 5.9 × 5.1 × 1.1 inPublished:June 4, 2013Publisher:Penguin Random House Audio Publishing GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1611761697

ISBN - 13:9781611761696

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for The Indifferent Stars Above (A New York Times Editors's Pick; An IndieNext Notable Pick; A B&N Best of the Year selection; finalist for the Washington State Book Award)"An ideal pairing of talent and material." — Mary Roach, The New York Times"A remarkable book...hard to put down." — The Seattle Times“A compelling read…capturing the stories of heroism and loss with imagination and attention-grabbing skill.” — The Minneapolis Star-Tribune“This deft slice of regional history will attract disaster and weather buffs as well as fans of Norman Maclean’s standout book, Young Men and Fire.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)