The Brave Never Write Poetry

March 15, 2011|
The Brave Never Write Poetry by Daniel Jones
$17.80 
$17.95
Paperback
Earn 89 plum® points
Ships free on orders over $35

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Not available in stores

Prices and offers may vary in store

about

First published in 1985, when Daniel Jones was just 26, The Brave Never Write Poetry, the poet/critic/novelist''s lone collection of poems, was a cult hit, turning ''poetry'' on its head before its author (then known simply as ''Jones'') swore off verse entirely. Written in a direct, plainspoken, autobiographical and at times confessional style in the tradition of Charles Bukowski and Al Purdy, these confrontational poems about sex and boredom, drugs and suicide, document Jones'' depressive, alcoholic years as an enfant terrible.

This long-overdue revised edition brings Jones'' unforgettable voice to a new generation of readers and includes the complete text of the original collection (including Jones'' own sardonic assessments of his own poetry), a new preface by poet/critic Kevin Connolly, and postscript commentary from many of Jones'' closest friends and literary colleagues.

Daniel Jones was born in Hamilton, Ontario, in 1959, and lived in Toronto from 1977 until his tragic suicide in 1994. His books include a collection of poetry, The Brave Never Write Poetry (Coach House), a novel, Obsessions (Mercury), and a collection of short stories, The People One Knows (Mercury). A former contributing editor ...
Loading
Title:The Brave Never Write PoetryFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:104 pages, 8 X 5.14 X 0.36 inShipping dimensions:104 pages, 8 X 5.14 X 0.36 inPublished:March 15, 2011Publisher:Coach House BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:155245245X

ISBN - 13:9781552452455

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: