The Brink: Stories

Paperback | April 28, 2015

byAustin Bunn

not yet rated|write a review

A brilliant, inventive debut story collection in the vein of Kevin Wilson and Wells Tower.

Brimming with life and unforgettable voices, the stories in Austin Bunn’s dazzling collection explore the existential question: what happens at “the end” and what lies beyond it? In the wry but affecting “How to Win an Unwinnable War,” a summer class on nuclear war for gifted teenagers turns a struggling family upside down. A young couple’s idyllic beach honeymoon is interrupted by terrorism in the lush, haunting “Getting There and Away.” When an immersive videogame begins turning off in the heartbreaking “Griefer,” an obsessive player falls in love with a mysterious player in the final hours of a world.

Told in a stunning range of voices, styles, and settings—from inside the Hale-Bopp cult to the deck of a conquistador’s galleon adrift at the end of the ocean—the stories in Bunn’s collection capture the transformations and discoveries at the edge of irrevocable change. Each tale presents a distinct world, told with deep emotion, energizing language, and characters with whom we have more in common that we realize. They signal the arrival of an astonishing new talent in short fiction.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.50

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

A brilliant, inventive debut story collection in the vein of Kevin Wilson and Wells Tower.Brimming with life and unforgettable voices, the stories in Austin Bunn’s dazzling collection explore the existential question: what happens at “the end” and what lies beyond it? In the wry but affecting “How to Win an Unwinnable War,” a summer cl...

From the Jacket

Brimming with life and extraordinary range, Austin Bunn's dazzling collection explores what happens at "the end" and afterward.

Austin Bunn is a fiction writer, playwright, screenwriter, and former journalist. His writing has appeared inThe Atlantic Monthly,Zoetrope,The New York Times Magazine,Wired,Best American Science and Nature Writing,The Pushcart Prize, and elsewhere. He cowrote the screenplay toKill Your Darlings(Sony Pictures Classics), starring Daniel ...
Format:PaperbackDimensions:240 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.54 inPublished:April 28, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062362615

ISBN - 13:9780062362612

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Brink: Stories

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Austin Bunn’s debut is an impressively taut work, delving into a variety of topics, including Cold War anxiety and childhood politics. It’s a remarkably well-made and well-assembled collection.”