The Broken Ones: (prequel To The Malediction Trilogy) by Danielle L. JensenThe Broken Ones: (prequel To The Malediction Trilogy) by Danielle L. Jensen

The Broken Ones: (prequel To The Malediction Trilogy)

byDanielle L. Jensen

Paperback | June 6, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.72 online 
$12.50 list price save 14%
Earn 54 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Prequel to the USA Today Bestselling Malediction Trilogy

Below Forsaken Mountain, a plot is being hatched to overthrow the tyrant king of Trollus, and Marc is the right-hand man of its leader.  His involvement is information more than one troll would kill to possess, which is why he must keep it a secret from everyone, even the girl he loves. 

After accidentally ruining her sister's chance to become queen, Pénélope is given one last opportunity by her father, the Duke d’Angoulême, to make herself useful: she must find proof that the boy she’s in love with is conspiring against the crown. If she fails, her life will be forfeit.

Marc and Pénélope must navigate the complex politics of Trollus, where powers on all sides are intent on using them as pawns, forcing them to risk everything for a chance at a life together.

Except being together may turn out to be the greatest risk of all.

File Under: Fantasy
DANIELLE L JENSEN was born and raised in Calgary, Canada. At the insistence of the left side of her brain, she graduated in 2003 from the University of Calgary with a bachelor’s degree in finance. But the right side of her brain has ever been mutinous; and in 2010, it sent her back to school to complete an entirely impractical English ...
Loading
Title:The Broken Ones: (prequel To The Malediction Trilogy)Format:PaperbackDimensions:320 pages, 7.9 × 5.3 × 0.8 inPublished:June 6, 2017Publisher:Watkins MediaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0857666975

ISBN - 13:9780857666970

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful & Tragic Love Story I actually read this first then moved on to the series and I'm happy I did it gives you more of a look at the other characters and their personalities so you don't see Anais for example quite so harshly you kind of understand her. Same with Marc I love his character now he's an awesome guy.
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Back in Trollus We are back in Trollus, but this time before the Songbird’s entrance. This is the story of Marc and Penelope and provides us with an explanation for Marc’s character in the The Malediction Trilogy. I always liked Marc and was looking forward to reading more about him through his point of view, which also gives a different perspective on Tristan. Sadly, I wasn’t a fan of Penelope. I understood where she came from and that her life was not the greatest, yet I sensed a character trait that I didn’t like. The story gives us the foundation of Tristan’s plot to bring down his own father and it is filled with many political twists and turns and mind games. Old enemies are making a comeback and the reader gets a tease of what made Anais what she is later on in the trilogy. Overall, a great treat for fans of Jensen’s The Malediction Trilogy and I would highly recommend it.
Date published: 2017-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Backstory I knew what I was getting myself into before reading this book but I regret NOTHING. The Broken Ones was truly a beautiful and an amazing addition to the Malediction Trilogy, and if you haven't read TMT I highly recommend you do. This book had a phenomenal backstory to one of my beloved characters, and I'm so glad the author decided to write this and allow us to immerse ourselves back into the world of Trollus.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Complex Love Story I knew the moment I picked up THE BROKEN ONES that it would break my heart. While I definitely got what I'd expected, and that is not a bad thing at all. It was rewarding to return to the harsh, yet beautiful world of Trollus and its cruel tyranny. I've always loved Marc and have had a soft spot for him from the beginning, and it was great to have him in the spotlight for a change, though honestly, his and Penelope's story was filled with so much struggle and so much strife it was heartbreaking to read. But I loved it. Marc's journey and his internal struggles made him such a layered character, and it was great to see that Penelope's reputation lived up to her. She was sweet and strong and I fell halfway in love with her myself. Even though I knew how the story would end, I was nonetheless swept up in a beautiful romance that defied all expectations. It truly was two against the world, the kind of romance that everyone dreams about. There were so many challenges the duo faced regarding the tyranny and the plots to overthrow it, with so many betrayals and lies and deceptions I could scarcely keep up, all of it leading to an emotional climax that I won't be forgetting any time soon. I was quickly reminded why I love this series and if you're a fan, you cannot miss out on this one. Absolutely beautiful!
Date published: 2017-06-11

Editorial Reviews

“SO GOOD. I am drowning in feels. If you haven’t read the Malediction Trilogy then I seriously implore for you to do it before this one comes out. This series is AMAZING. And it has an amazing book boyfriend (who is MINE) and excellent supporting characters. For me, it is Fantasy at its best!”– The Reader and the Chef“I absolutely loved reading this book! It was so amazing to be in the world before Cecile, to see these friends together when Pénélope was still alive, when she and Marc were falling in love. That love changed the group’s dynamics, and I loved reading about it!”– Words I Write Crazy“Jensen’s ability to create a mood is nothing short of brilliant, engaging and full of torment. Her ability to track the political scheming and constant intrigues leads to finales that are both tragic and unpredictable. A wonderful addition to a brilliant trilogy!”– Books Before Bandaids“It was wildly unpredictable and wholly thrilling to read this book – I honestly couldn’t put it down because I was so busy, my eyes burning through the pages as I was afraid what might befall the characters.”– YA On My Mind“I do love the world. I love the intrigue, and the schemes, and evil plots. I love the magic and the messed up nature of it all. And I want everyone to go check it out!”– The Book Cover Girls“Both fascinating and so very heartbreaking! If you’ve read the Malediction Trilogy, you really NEED to read this one and if you haven’t read the trilogy yet, what are you waiting for??”– In Love With Handmade“I haven’t read the Malediction Trilogy. Yet. After experiencing this brutal, magic-driven world where ruthless magic-users don’t scruple to use deadly force to safeguard their interest, I now want to know what happens next.”– Brainfluff“Wonderfully written, I cried!”– Book Talk“The author challenged my preconception and presented me with a unique story. I was wrapped up into the world of Trollus and the fates of Tristan, Marc, Penelope and the King. Fans of Fantasy should give this series a try.”– Love of the Written Word“I loved delving back into the world of Trollus and seeing a whole other side of things before Cécile arrives into the picture. I loved how this story played on my heartstrings and made me ache for the characters. I loved Danielle L Jensen and her stories and the way she writes. I love the world building and I feel like she is REALLY good at making you connect with the characters and the story. I can’t wait to read more from this author. I love her books and I love this whole series. It’s definitely a must own!”– Book Nut“Gorgeously written and incredibly bittersweet, The Broken Ones is the perfect prequel I didn’t know my heart needed. Danielle L Jensen expertly comes back to the beginning, and she certainly doesn’t miss a beat.”– YA Book Central“It was magical, romantic, and ultimately a heart-wrenching story of love gone horribly wrong.”– Lady With A Quill“It really worked for me.”– A Reader of Fictions“It really is a gift from the author to their readers.”– Lulau Lis“This novel is now incredibly precious to me, and one I will cherish forever.”– The Reader and the Chef“Absolutely beautiful!”– Amy Braun Author“A beautiful and painful love story.”– Fantasy Raiders“Interesting and heartbreaking.”– Urban Fantasy Investigations“Dystopian fantasy brimful of emotion and unexpected plot twists.”– SF ReaderPRAISE FOR THE MALEDICTION TRILOGY“Amazing world building. Incredible writing. Awesome characters. No dull moments. Fierce and not-whinny-and-annoying heroine. And a swoon worthy Troll prince.  Stones and sky! I was completely engulfed in the world of Trollus. It felt like I have been living inside its world throughout the entire time I’m reading this incredible book.”– The Nocturnal Fey“Stolen Songbird is a fantastic debut. The book had an amazing cast of developed characters, an intriguing plot, an swoon- worthy romance and an ending that’ll have you itching for the next book. I’d definitely recommend it.”– YA Midnight Reads“Love, adore, heart-to-freaking-pieces. This kind of book is why, why, why people need to look more closely at YA fantasy if they don’t already. Let Jensen show you how it’s done. Topping Stolen Songbird was always going to be a difficult task, but naturally Jensen manages it. The bar was set and so she vaulted over it, off into the sunset to a fanfare of praise.”– Jet Black Ink“This is a wonderfully written story, and as the second novel in this series, it perhaps even supersedes the first as it morphs in to entirely new directions.”– Quirkathonic“Warrior Witch IS the ending that this amazing series deserves. The ending that completely destroys you and then fixes you. The ending that your heart will never forget.”– The Reader and The Chef“This book felt like a roller coaster to me, in the best way possible. I loved how Jensen managed to throw me off still by revealing aspects about certain characters. How she managed to change my mind on characters I felt very strongly about. In my opinion, this is a great example of a final book done right.”– The Fictional Reader