The Cafe By The Sea: A Novel by Jenny ColganThe Cafe By The Sea: A Novel by Jenny Colgan

The Cafe By The Sea: A Novel

byJenny Colgan

Paperback | June 27, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.69 online 
$19.99 list price save 26%
Earn 73 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

The beloved author of The Bookshop on the Corner returns with a sparkling, sunny, soulful new novel perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand.

Years ago, Flora fled the quiet Scottish island where she grew up -- and she hasn't looked back. What would she have done on Mure? It's a place where everyone has known her all her life, where no one will let her forget the past. In bright, bustling London, she can be anonymous, ambitious... and hopelessly in love with her boss.

But when fate brings Flora back to the island, she's suddenly swept once more into life with her brothers (all strapping, loud and seemingly incapable of basic housework) and her father. Yet even amid the chaos of their reunion, Flora discovers a passion for cooking -- and finds herself restoring dusty little pink-fronted shop on the harbour: a café by the sea.

But with the seasons changing, Flora must come to terms with past mistakes... and work out exactly where her future lies...

Funny and heartfelt, The Café by the Sea is a delightful summertime novel that puts a modern twist on the classic Seven Brides for Seven Brothers story.

 

 

 

Jenny Colgan is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous novels, including Christmas at the Cupcake Café, Little Beach Street Bakery, and Meet Me at the Cupcake Café, all international bestsellers. Jenny is married with three children and lives in London and Scotland.
Loading
Title:The Cafe By The Sea: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:416 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.94 inPublished:June 27, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006266297X

ISBN - 13:9780062662972

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy read!! Really an enjoyable fun read.....starting to adore Jenny Colgan's style of writing!
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great read! I really loved all the description in this story!! Jenny Colgan writes beautifully, and this book is full of the same charm and wit as many of her other books!
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved Reading This! Flora travels back to her childhood home for work and ends up facing memories she has stored away for years. Funny and full of romance and adventure...loved reading this!
Date published: 2018-03-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Alright Loved the imagery (I adore Scotland) and I felt that the character development was pretty good, however, I didn’t entirely love the story. And I did not love the male romantic interest as a person...but perhaps I will learn to like him in the next book. I would probably still read the sequel, just to see if it can change my mind! I really like Jenny Colgan so I’m not ready to throw in the towel yet!
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Story A light and enjoyable read. I love Jenny Colgan's ability to make you feel like you're really on the tiny Scottish island.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice beach read Loved the Scottish setting and relaxed pace of this enjoyable chick-lit.
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, feel-good read! I love Jenny Colgan's books - they're the perfect 'feel-good' read. Her latest North American release is The Cafe by the Sea. What makes Colgan's books such a delight to read? Her characters first and foremost. There's always a fun female lead facing decisions, both professionally and personally. This time 'round it's Flora, born on the remote Scottish island of Mure. When her mother died, Flora fled to London to pursue her career. Three years on she hasn't returned, even for a visit. But when her boss (yes she does have a crush on him - this is another integral part of Colgan's books - the romantic will they, won't they component) sends her there for work, she is forced to confront her past - and look to her future. (Another few pieces of the feel-good read - conflict and heart-string tugging.) Flora is a perfect lead - fun, quirky and very likable. The supporting cast also endears themselves to the reader - Flora's loud and noisy family, the townsfolk - and two other possible romantic entanglements...... The grief and loss Flora is experiencing over her mother's death is very well written. Anyone who has suffered such a loss will find themselves shedding a tear or two. But there's lots of joy as well - rediscovering that place we call 'home' and finding your own passion - the thing you were meant to do. The title gives you a pretty broad hint of what Flora's passion might be. Colgan's description of the joy of food and baking was, well, mouthwatering! The descriptions of Mure are vivid, bring the imaginary isle to life - and had me wanting to visit. And who doesn't love a good romantic tale - the meandering path to true love - all the while knowing that yes, there's a happy ending. But sad for the reader when the end is reached. More please! The Cafe by the Sea is the perfect summer (okay, really anytime) read - engaging, touching, joyful, romantic, humourous and more. Loved it! (And I have to say that I look forward to reading the note from the author at the beginning of Colgan's books - her warmth and wit shine through and add a personal note to the novels.)
Date published: 2017-06-26

Editorial Reviews

”A cozy delight from beginning to end.”