The Canary Club by Sherry D. FicklinThe Canary Club by Sherry D. Ficklin

The Canary Club

bySherry D. Ficklin

Paperback | October 19, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.05 online 
$14.50 list price
Earn 65 plum® points

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

about

"Bad Luck" Benny is a boy from the wrong side of the tracks. Recently released from jail, he has vowed to keep his head down and stay out of trouble. But he also needs to care for his ailing sister and the rest of his struggling family, and he'll do anything to make that happen-even if it means taking a position with a notorious crime boss. He soon finds himself in over his head-and worse still-falling for the one dame on earth he should be staying away from.

Masie is the daughter of a wealthy gangster with the voice of an angel and gun smoke in her veins. Strong-willed but trapped in a life she never wanted, she dreams of flying free from the politics and manipulation of her father. A pawn in her family's fight for control of the city, and with a killer hot on her heels, she turns to the one person who just might be able to spring her from her gilded cage. But Masie is no angel, and her own dark secrets may come back to burn them both.

Two worlds collide in this compelling story of star-crossed lovers in gritty prohibition-era New York.

Perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams' A CERTAIN AGE or Libba Bray's THE DIVINERS, THE CANARY CLUB by Sherry D. Ficklin will entice Historical Romance fans of all ages. This Gatsby-era tale filled with dazzling speakeasies, vicious shoot-outs, gritty gangsters, and iridescent ingenues has also been compared to the television series Z: THE BEGINNING OF EVERYTHING and BOARDWALK EMPIRE.

Sherry is a full time writer from Colorado where she lives with her husband, four kids, two dogs, and a fluctuating number of chickens and house guests. A former military brat, she loves to travel, eat exotic food, and meet new people. She can often be found browsing her local bookstore with a large white hot chocolate in one hand and ...
Loading
Title:The Canary ClubFormat:PaperbackDimensions:325 pages, 7.83 × 5.31 × 0.85 inPublished:October 19, 2017Publisher:Clean Teen PublishingLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1634222504

ISBN - 13:9781634222501

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from "The Godfather" Of YA Reading this book was like stepping back in time, straight to the roaring twenties. The dialogue, the descriptions of the clubs, the music - everything was on par and incredibly detailed. The author clearly put a lot of time and research into this novel, and it shows - not in a landslide of factual information, but in how smoothly everything flows together. For me, this book was "Romeo & Juliet" meets "The Godfather". Equal parts star-crossed lovers and booze-smuggling gangsters, but working surprisingly well together. It wasn't too much romance or not enough passion; likewise, there was a perfect amount of 20s clubbing and illegal activity to maintain the balance. Readers should note, however, that this book deals very openly and explicitly with domestic violence. Some scenes are graphic and may be disturbing to some readers. Others deal openly with gang violence and are rather bloody. Overall, I enjoyed this much more than I expected, and I am very likely to recommend it to my fellow book lovers who enjoy a good, old-fashioned, Bonnie and Clyde type of love story.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A For the Lover of Books Review Number of pages: 325 Number of times read (including the time before this review): 1 Rating (out of five stars): 1.5 Release Date: October 19th 2017 *Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for providing a copy in exchange for a review. My opinions are honest and my own. I requested this one on a whim thinking I wouldn’t get accepted. I was genuinely interested in the premise, but I thought the setting of the 1920s wouldn’t work for me. In the end, I think everything but the setting ended up not working for me. Let’s start with possibly the most controversial of my gripes: Masie. I have a lot of issues with her characterization, but one in particular stands out; she comes across as far too modern. The thing that put me off from the beginning was the long paragraph near the start of her first chapter where she railed against her oppression as a woman. I’m not condoning the oppression of women in any way (I quite like my rights as a Canadian female), but I see this sort of thing far too often in historical fiction books. It feels like the authors making sure readers know their opinions on the oppression of women. But here’s the thing; I’m not reading historical fiction to learn about the authors feelings on how women were treated in the past. I’m reading historical fiction to see what life was like in *insert time period here* in *insert country here*. If I wanted to know how the author feels about life as a woman in 1920s New York, I would follow her on Twitter. Yes, there would have been women in the 1920s who genuinely railed against the oppression they faced (and power to them), but people in the past did not rail against their oppression as often as is represented in YA historical fiction, and that is where the issue lies. Then there’s Benny. In terms of historical accuracy, he appeared to be well done. My issue with him is rather that he is not a very realistic character. It feels like the author made a list of all the characteristics she would want in a partner, and Benny was made. I don’t think I can pinpoint a bad quality Benny has, and that’s an issue. The romance between Masie and Benny is one of the most glaring cases of insta-love I have read in a long time. They basically look at each other for the first time and are infatuated. The other problem I had with the romance is that it messes with Benny’s characterization. Benny is set up as someone who cares a lot about his family, but as soon as things heat up with Masie, he doesn’t really mention his family agian until he’s saying goodbye at the end. The secondary characters also aren’t done very well. It is clear from the way everything is set up that if you don’t like Masie and Benny, you’re not going to find another character to connect with. The rest of the characters are completely forgettable, including Masie’s father, the reason there is any semblance of a plot. Speaking of the plot, nothing ever really happens. The whole book is centered around the romance, but since they are infatuated at first glance, there’s not a whole lot to it. There’s no watching them fall in love with each other, as their every thought is already focused on the other. Overall, The Canary Club features nothing to recommend it, earning it 1.5 stars out of 5.
Date published: 2017-08-29