The Case Of The Missing Moonstone (the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 1) by Jordan StratfordThe Case Of The Missing Moonstone (the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 1) by Jordan Stratford

The Case Of The Missing Moonstone (the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 1)

byJordan StratfordIllustratorKelly Murphy

Paperback | January 26, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.99

Earn 55 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket!
 
Jordan Stratford imagines an alternate 1826, where Ada Lovelace (the world’s first computer programmer) and Mary Shelley (author of Frankenstein) meet as girls and form a secret detective agency!
 
Lady Ada Byron, age eleven, is a genius. Isolated, awkward and a bit rude—but a genius. Mary Godwin, age fourteen, is a romantic. Adventurous, astute, and kind, Mary is to become Ada’s first true friend. And together, the girls conspire to form the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency—a secret constabulary for the apprehension of clever criminals. Their first case involves a stolen heirloom, a false confession, and an array of fishy suspects. But it’s no match for the deductive powers and bold hearts of Ada and Mary.
 
Mystery fans will love this tween girl riff on Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. History buffs will be delighted to see all the real figures who play a role in this story and appreciate the extensive backmatter that helps separate truth from fiction. Parents and educators hoping to promote the STEM fields for girls will be thrilled to have a series where two girls use math, science, and creative analytical thinking to solve crimes. But most especially--emerging readers will love this series filled with humor, action, intrigue and wonderful artwork from Kelly Murphy.


From the Hardcover edition.
JORDAN STRATFORD is a producer, author, and screenwriter. Stratford launched the idea for the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency series on Kickstarter, where the response was overwhelming enthusiasm.   Mr. Stratford lives on Salt Spring Island in British Columbia, Canada, with his wife and children and is hard at work on the next book in ...
Loading
Title:The Case Of The Missing Moonstone (the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 1)Format:PaperbackDimensions:240 pages, 7.63 × 5.13 × 0.58 inPublished:January 26, 2016Publisher:Random House Children's BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0385754434

ISBN - 13:9780385754439

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Captivating Captivating from the beginning, this middle grade novel is mystery, historical fiction, and girl power all wrapped up together. Featuring a pair of strong female leads, this novel shows how very far we have come in the last one hundred years. Stratford has very cleverly taken two very well known women and used a little creative license to imagine what it would have been like if Ada Byron, world's first computer programmer, and Mary Godwin, author of the world's first science fiction novel, had been friends. What would they have done together? Obviously create a clandestine detective agency! The language in this novel is so lovely and the constant push against the norms of expected female behaviour of the early 1800s demonstrates how girls have the ability to be more than society dictates. A strong novel for all of your middle graders.
Date published: 2017-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeously written and illustrated –an exciting new series! This book was destined to be great. I was one of the Kickstarter backers for this phenomenal campaign and am so very happy that this book exists in the world! Excellent characters, funny dialogue, I can't say enough good things. High recommended and I will be buying copies for all the young people in my life.
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this! Ada Lovelace and Mary Shelly meet as 11 and 14 year old girls to form a detective agency and solve crime from 19th century literature? SIGN ME UP! This book should be in the hands of all smart, imaginative, and adventurous kids. A fantastic read! Would appeal to parents in Tech, STEM, Lit and History nerds. We can't wait until the next book comes out!
Date published: 2015-01-27

Editorial Reviews

“This is a winner.” —School Library Journal   “Smart and witty. The detectives in training use quick thinking, book smarts, and social know-how to find a stolen gemstone. Comical narration and dialogue will charm readers thoroughly.” —Publishers Weekly   “An enjoyable plot, resourceful heroines and fun writing.” —Wall Street Journal   “Equal parts laughs and adventure, this lively mystery will keep you guessing till the end!” –Discovery Girls   “Smart and clever girls who think they know better than anyone else (and probably do) will enjoy this refreshing mystery and the start to what’s sure to be an intriguing series.” – KidsReads   “A tale of two young girls facing down wicked plots and pernicious deeds.”—The Center for Fiction   “A must-read for fans of history, mystery, and witty young women, The Case of the Missing Moonstone is a charming first installment of what is sure to be a spectacular series.” –Middle Shelf Magazine   “Promises to be a classic for young modern sleuths.”—Portland Book Review