The Clockwork Girl by Sean O'ReillyThe Clockwork Girl by Sean O'Reilly

The Clockwork Girl

bySean O'Reilly, Kevin Hanna

Hardcover | July 12, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info

$24.99

Earn 125 plum® points
Quantity:

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Mad scientists, supernatural dangers, and a series of all-too-human challenges will confront two unlikely heroes in The Clockwork Girl, an unforgettable journey into the farthest reaches of the imagination. Tesla, a mechanical girl brought to life by her Victor Frankenstein-like creator, faces a wall of fear, intolerance, and superstition in her steam-shrouded castle—but when she discovers a friend in Huxley, a mutant boy from the circus sideshow, then the pair of outcasts will finally learn what it is to be human. The award-winning Clockwork Girl comic books, now in an enthralling graphic novel compendium perfect for fans of Scott Pilgrim, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and Marvel Comics’ The Wizard of Oz, is a one-of-a-kind paranormal tale of steampunk science, breathless suspense, and riveting adventure.
Soon to be a three-dimensional major motion picture,The Clockwork Girllove story is inspired by the romantic pursuits of its lovesick authors, colleagues Sean O’Reilly and Kevin Hanna.Sean O’Reilly is the founder and C.E.O. of Arcana Studio, an award-winning publisher of comic books and graphic novels. He is the author of a number of g...
Loading
Title:The Clockwork GirlFormat:HardcoverDimensions:128 pages, 10.19 × 6.62 × 0.5 inPublished:July 12, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062080393

ISBN - 13:9780062080394

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Steampunk & Romance Reason for Reading: I've enjoyed other books by Sean O'Reilly and this one sounded wonderful, plus I wanted to read the book before seeing the movie (which doesn't have a release date as of yet). First of all, an absolutely beautiful book. Illustrations are gorgeous and the book is just pleasure for the eyes to read. It's book like this I'd never trade for an ereader. The story centres around two scientists who live next door to each other, one who is a technical scientist building robots and automatons, whilst the other works with biological science creating new forms of life. They are enemies. Last year Dendrus won the annual fair with his "mutant boy" named Huxley. This year he has come with Huxley and to watch his students' presentations but without an entry himself. But The Tinkerer has finally created his masterpiece "The Clockwork Girl" who later names herself Tesla. Tesla and Huxley meet at the Fair and develop a friendship later secretly meeting between their respective castles, though their fathers are warring with each other, ala Romeo & Juliet. The robot and the mutant like each other but it isn't anything more than platonic, there is a third child involved who it is unclear but I think is either Dendrus' assistant or own son. I'm glad the story doesn't enter into a romance as I'm not fond of that sort of thing, though the plot does enter the dramatic and intensiveness of a life and death situation such as is found in Romeo & Juliet. The plot actually has quite a few Shakespearean elements and is honestly, just a wonderful story to read. The characters are all quirky and fun, from the children to the adults to the creatures. The fair is a wonderful chapter with all sorts of weird and wacky inventions being displayed and causing trouble. But ultimately it is a story of lonely people, finding happiness in friendship and the despair one will only find in feuding with others. An adorable story suitable for all ages, some scenes may be too intense for little ones but otherwise young and old alike with love this wonderful story.
Date published: 2011-10-04