The Collected Works of Aphra Behn (Volume 4 of 6) by Aphra Behn

The Collected Works of Aphra Behn (Volume 4 of 6)

byAphra Behn

Kobo ebook | December 15, 2009

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


Aphra Behn (1640-1689) is historically recognized as the first woman to make a living through writing; her plays, novels, poems and pamphlets have met with fresh notoriety since the 20th Century. Her work was particularly significant to a group of contemporary writers known as The Female Wits, as well as to later feminist writers like Virginia Woolf. Stories of comedy and intrigue, complete with and masks, mistaken identities, visual deceptions, and complicated love triangles reflect Behn's remarkable life experiences: her conservative upbringing, her political support of the Tories, her recruitment as a political spy for Charles II, and later speculation of her bisexuality. Behn once wrote that she had led a "life dedicated to pleasure and poetry." This fourth volume of Behn's collected works includes "Sir Patient Fancy," "The Amorous Prince," "The Younger Brother," and critical and explanatory notes for the reader.

Title:The Collected Works of Aphra Behn (Volume 4 of 6)Format:Kobo ebookPublished:December 15, 2009Publisher:Neeland Media LLCLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1420939785

ISBN - 13:9781420939781

Look for similar items by category: