The Colonel's Dream And Other Stories by Charles Waddell Chesnutt

The Colonel's Dream And Other Stories

byCharles Waddell Chesnutt

Kobo ebook | November 24, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


The Colonel's Dream and Other Stories contained  6 works written by Charles Waddell Chesnutt (June 20, 1858 – November 15, 1932) was an African American author, essayist, political activist and lawyer, best known for his novels and short stories exploring complex issues of racial and social identity in the post-Civil War South. Many families of free people of color were formed in the colonial and early Federal period; some attained education and property; in addition there were many mixed-race slaves, who as freedmen after the war were part of the complex society of the South. Two of his books were adapted as silent films in 1926 and 1927 by the African-American director and producer Oscar Micheaux. Following the civil rights movement of the 20th century, interest in Chesnutt's works was revived. These are the 6 works of Charles Waddell Chesnutt in this book:

1, The Colonel's Dream (1905)

2. The Wife of his Youth and Other…(1899)

3. The Conjure Woman (1899)

4. Frederick Douglass (1899)

5. The House Behind the Cedars {1900}

6. The Marrow of Tradition (1901)

Title:The Colonel's Dream And Other StoriesFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:November 24, 2015Publisher:Seng BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title: