The Complete Novels Of Jane Austen

October 8, 2019|
The Complete Novels Of Jane Austen by Jane Austen
Paper over Board
Earn 185 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Find In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store


Jane Austen revolutionized the literary romance, using it as a platform from which to address issues of gender politics and class consciousness among the British middle-class of the late eighteenth century. The novels included in this collection from the elegant Knickerbocker Classics series—Sense and Sensibility,Pride and Prejudice,Mansfield Park,Emma,Northanger Abbey,Persuasion, andLady Susan—represent all of Austen''s complete novels, and provide the reader with an entrance into the world she and her memorable characters inhabited.

With witty, unflinching morality, Austen portrays English middle-class life as the eighteenth century came to a close and the nineteenth century began. Austen''s heroines find happiness in many forms,each of the novels is a story of love and marriage—marriage for love, financial security, and for social status.

In a publishing career that spanned less than ten years, her work brought her little personal fame and only a few positive reviews during her lifetime. It wasn''t until the 1940s that she became widely accepted in academia as a great English writer. The second half of the 20th century saw a proliferation of Austen scholarship and the emergence of a fan culture.Austen''s works continue to influence the course of the noveleven as they charm readers today.

TheTimeless Classics seriesfrom Rock Point brings together the works of classic authors from around the world. Complete and unabridged, these elegantly designed gift editions feature luxe, patterned endpapers, ribbon markers, and foil and deboss details on vibrantly colored cases. Celebrate these beloved works of literature as true standouts in your personal library collection.

Other titles in the series include:The Complete Grimm''s Fairy Tales,The Complete Sherlock Holmes,The Complete Tales & Poems of Edgar Allan Poe,The Complete Tales of H.P. Lovecraft, andThe Complete Works of William Shakespeare.

Jane Austen(1775-1817) was an English novelist whose works of romantic fiction, set among the British middle class, earned her a place as one of the most widely read writers in English literature. Her realism and biting social commentary has gained her historical importance among scholars and critics, though her work brought he...
Title:The Complete Novels Of Jane Austen
Format:Paper over Board
Product dimensions:1232 pages, 9.75 X 6.95 X 2.75 in
Shipping dimensions:1232 pages, 9.75 X 6.95 X 2.75 in
Published:October 8, 2019
Publisher:Rock Point
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781631066436

Recently Viewed