The Complete Wakefield Series: a best-selling and critically acclaimed crime series by David Evans

The Complete Wakefield Series: a best-selling and critically acclaimed crime series

byDavid Evans

Kobo ebook | May 12, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


The Complete Wakefield Series - a critically acclaimed, best-selling crime series.

From the CWA Debut Dagger Shortlist Novelist comes the extraordinary crime series that everyone is raving about.






When DI Colin Strong interviews a suspect on suspicion of handling stolen goods he’s convinced he’s heard their voice before. Nearly 25 years ago the tape of Wearside Jack taunted West Yorkshire Police and his suspect fits the profile.

Then the body of a known burglar shows up and a mysterious metal case is discovered at the scene.

Strong turns to his close friend, journalist Bob Souter, and embarks on an awkward alliance to probe areas he is unable to explore.

As the murder suspects start to disappear Strong must discover just who the shadowy figure inciting fear and panic amongst those he encounters is.

Strong wants to bring a murderer to justice and Souter is hungry for a story.

Who will get to the truth first and can their friendship remain intact? 


A message left in error on a young woman's answerphone is the catalyst for uncovering some dark deeds. Three young women are missing; luxury cars are being stolen; and just what did happen to two young schoolgirls, missing since the 1980's?

DI Strong and journalist, Bob Souter are drawn into murky and dangerous worlds.


Following a fire in a terraced house, the body of a prominent lawyer, Charles Chamberlain, is found naked and shackled to a bed frame. 

Six weeks earlier, DI Colin Strong is investigating the sudden death of a transsexual, left undiscovered in the bath for over a year. Initially, it appears to be a tragic death but one mysterious item, a card for the Talisman Club, is found in the bedroom.

Meanwhile, Bob Souter, journalist and close friend of DI Strong, is probing connections between a developer and the council leader in respect of a controversial project when massive European funding is announced. Souter smells a rat and delves further into the scheme.

Is there a link between the bodies and the business deal?

Will Souter or DI Strong crack the case first?

And what exactly is the Talisman Club?

What the readers say:


"Informative, interesting and thrilling"

"Simply unputdownable."


"What a fantastic read , the author captured my interest early on with this thrilling story."

"Another brilliant book from a great writer. 

"Torment' is an enjoyable detective book with gripping plots and a dark mystery."


"Another stupendous read"

"It will become one of the talked about novels of 2016"

Title:The Complete Wakefield Series: a best-selling and critically acclaimed crime seriesFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:May 12, 2017Publisher:Bloodhound BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:


Look for similar items by category: