The Complete World War I Series by Joseph A. Altsheler

The Complete World War I Series

byJoseph A. Altsheler

Kobo ebook | November 16, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


Joseph A. Altsheler's WORLD WAR I SERIES for young readers features three novels, THE GUNS OF EUROPE, THE FOREST OF SWORDS, and THE HOSTS OF THE AIR, dealing with the world war in Europe.  It was the singular fortune of the author to be present at the beginning of this, the most gigantic struggle in the history of our globe. He was in Vienna the day Austria-Hungary declared war upon Serbia, thus setting the torch that lighted the general conflagration. Returning westward, he reached Munich the day Germany declared war upon Russia. He remained in Germany nearly a month, having witnessed in turn the Austrian and German mobilizations, and then arrived in England in time to see the gathering of the British Empire's armed hosts.

• The Guns of Europe
• The Forest of Swords
• The Hosts of the Air

Joseph Alexander Altsheler (1862-1919) was an American newspaper reporter, foreign correspondent, editor and author of popular historical fiction for young readers.  Born in Kentucky, Altsheler began writing juvenile fiction due to a lack of appropriate stories in the magazines he edited.  He eventually wrote more than thirty historical novels in seven different series.


Title:The Complete World War I SeriesFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:November 16, 2014Publisher:Halcyon Press Ltd.Language:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title: