The Convention on Cluster Munitions: A Commentary by Gro NystuenThe Convention on Cluster Munitions: A Commentary by Gro Nystuen

The Convention on Cluster Munitions: A Commentary

EditorGro Nystuen, Stuart Casey-Maslen

Hardcover | November 14, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 1,418 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-3 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


This Commentary on the Convention on Cluster Munitions is a detailed assessment of the negotiation, content, and implications of the Convention, which is the latest treaty to ban a conventional weapon. The treaty, which will enter into force as binding international law on 1 August 2010, bans the production, stockpiling, transfer, and use of all cluster munitions. The book describes what cluster munitions are, when and where they have been used, and what steps States Parties will need to considerin order to implement the treaty's provisions. The Commentary goes systematically through the Convention article by article, explaining the purpose of each provision, its background and negotiation, and the meaning of each paragraph and sub-paragraph.
Gro Nystuen is dr. juris Associate Professor of International Humanitarian Law at the University of Oslo and the Norwegian Defense Staff University College. She worked in the Norwegian Ministry for Foreign Affairs (MFA) from 1991 to 2005, except from 2000-2003 when she wrote her doctoral thesis at the Law Faculty of the University of ...
Title:The Convention on Cluster Munitions: A CommentaryFormat:HardcoverDimensions:708 pagesPublished:November 14, 2010Publisher:Oxford University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0199599009

ISBN - 13:9780199599004

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

1. John Borrie, Declan Smyth, Stuart Maslen, and Gro Nystuen: Introduction2. Declan Smyth, Marcus Reiterer, Theo Boutruche, Andrew Clapham, and Thomas Nash: Preamble3. Virgil Wiebe, Christophe Lanord, and Declan Smyth: Article 14. Lou Maresca, Bonnie Docherty, Marcus Reiterer, and Richard Moyes: Article 25. Declan Smyth: Article 36. Stuart Maslen: Article 47. Marcus Reiterer: Article 58. Bonnie Docherty and Richard Moyes: Article 69. Bonnie Docherty: Article 710. Bonnie Docherty: Article 811. Lou Maresca: Article 912. Stuart Maslen: Articles 10-1313. Christophe Lanord: Articles 14-2014. Torfinn Arntsen: Article 2115. Christophe Lanord: Article 22-23