The Cranky Ballerina by Elise GravelThe Cranky Ballerina by Elise Gravel

The Cranky Ballerina

byElise GravelIllustratorElise Gravel

Hardcover | August 9, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.31 online 
$21.99 list price save 12%
Earn 97 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Ada hates everything about ballet class, yet she still has to go! Arabesques? Grotesque! And then one Saturday, Ada pliés right out the door and into the hallway, smacking into someone who thinks her ungraceful moves are great!

In the tradition of Kevin Henkes’s Lilly books and Russell and Lillian Hoban’s Frances classics, Ada is a plucky little kid with her own way of thinking. Through Ada’s stubbornness and emotional honesty, author/illustrator Elise Gravel shows her understanding of how kids feel and why. She shows us that anger is normal and feeling our emotions leads to growth! This short, funny, energetic book—full of word bubbles that enhance visual literacy and Gravel’s signature vibrant illustrations—is a great choice for both reading aloud and reading independently for emergent readers.

Children who love ballet—and definitely those who don’t—will delight in this clever, subversive tale about a kid who has to do what she doesn’t like in order to discover what she loves.

Title:The Cranky BallerinaFormat:HardcoverDimensions:32 pages, 9 × 9 × 0.25 inPublished:August 9, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062351249

ISBN - 13:9780062351241

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Such a cute book! This story is about a cranky little girl named Ada that has a monster-pal. She hates Saturdays and ballet. She learns that she likes Karate. This picture book explores emotions with imaginative artwork. Ages 4-8.
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A negative tone We ordered this book online, so were not able to read it beforehand, and thought it would be a cute story about trying something new. It turns out it's a bit negative for a toddler and we will be returning. The tone was not for us.
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quirky We all just need to find our thing. Charming.
Date published: 2016-12-20

Editorial Reviews

Praise for I LOVE MONSTERS: The abundance of rainbow-hued monsters suggests that Gravel probably had a grand time flinging darts at a color wheel.