The Cranky Ballerina

Hardcover | August 9, 2016

byElise GravelIllustratorElise Gravel

not yet rated|write a review

Ada hates everything about ballet class, yet she still has to go! Arabesques? Grotesque! And then one Saturday, Ada pliés right out the door and into the hallway, smacking into someone who thinks her ungraceful moves are great!

In the tradition of Kevin Henkes’s Lilly books and Russell and Lillian Hoban’s Frances classics, Ada is a plucky little kid with her own way of thinking. Through Ada’s stubbornness and emotional honesty, author/illustrator Elise Gravel shows her understanding of how kids feel and why. She shows us that anger is normal and feeling our emotions leads to growth! This short, funny, energetic book—full of word bubbles that enhance visual literacy and Gravel’s signature vibrant illustrations—is a great choice for both reading aloud and reading independently for emergent readers.

Children who love ballet—and definitely those who don’t—will delight in this clever, subversive tale about a kid who has to do what she doesn’t like in order to discover what she loves.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.87 online
$21.99 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Ada hates everything about ballet class, yet she still has to go! Arabesques? Grotesque! And then one Saturday, Ada pliés right out the door and into the hallway, smacking into someone who thinks her ungraceful moves are great!In the tradition of Kevin Henkes’s Lilly books and Russell and Lillian Hoban’s Frances classics, Ada is a pluc...

Format:HardcoverDimensions:32 pages, 9 × 9 × 0.25 inPublished:August 9, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062351249

ISBN - 13:9780062351241

Customer Reviews of The Cranky Ballerina

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adorable! I loved this book. The pictures are really cute and weird at the same time. I love how this book deconstructs assumptions about kids and gender.
Date published: 2016-11-11

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for I LOVE MONSTERS: The abundance of rainbow-hued monsters suggests that Gravel probably had a grand time flinging darts at a color wheel.