The Crock of Gold by James Stephens

The Crock of Gold

byJames Stephens

Kobo ebook | December 31, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


The Crock of Gold
by James Stephens

A novel based on Irish folklore.

"Crock of Gold is a novel written by James Stephens. Some editions have a foreword by Walter de la Mare. Truly unique, it is a mixture of philosophy, Irish folklore and the neverending battle of the sexes all with charm, humour and good grace.

It contains 6 books, Book 1--The Coming of Pan, Book 2--The Philosophers Journey, Book 3--The Two Gods, Book 4--The Philosophers Return, Book 5--The Policemen, Book 6--The Thin Woman's Journey, that rotate around a philosopher and his quest to find Cáitlin Ni Murrachu and deliver her from the god Pan and himself going through a catharsis. He himself is apprehended for murdering a philosopher friend and his wife who committed a peaceful suicide some months before, then whisked away by his wife the Thin Woman of Inis Magruth and the fairy folk, all the while encountering many notable characters, in particular Angús Òg, and the Thin Woman's encounter with the Three Infinites."

Title:The Crock of GoldFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:December 31, 2012Publisher:AppsPublisherLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title: