The Cure: How a Father Raised $100 Million--and Bucked the Medical Establishment--in a Quest to Save His Chil by Geeta Anand

The Cure: How a Father Raised $100 Million--and Bucked the Medical Establishment--in a Quest to…

byGeeta Anand

Paperback | December 29, 2009

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.00

Earn 105 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

“Amazing….Explores human courage under the most trying circumstances.” —<_st13a_state _w3a_st="on"><_st13a_place _w3a_st="on">New York Post<_o3a_p>

<_o3a_p> 

“An inspirational story about business, medical science, and one father’s refusal to give up hope.” —<_st13a_city _w3a_st="on"><_st13a_place _w3a_st="on">Boston Globe<_o3a_p>

<_o3a_p> 

The book that inspired the movie, Extraordinary Measures, starring Harrison Ford, Brendan Fraser, and Keri Russell, The Cure by Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Geeta Anand is the remarkable true story of one father’s determination to find a cure for his terminally sick children even if it meant he had to build a business from scratch to do so. At once a riveting story of the birth of an enterprise—ala Tracy Kidder’s The Soul of a New Machine—and a inspiring tale of the indomitable human spirit in the vein of Erin Brockovich and A Civil Action, The Cure is a testament to ingenuity, unflagging will, and unconquerable love.<_o3a_p>

About The Author

Geeta Anand is a Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative reporter and feature writer for theWall Street Journal. Formerly a political reporter for theBoston Globe, she now specializes in health care, education, and environmental challenges in India. She lives in Mumbai with her husband and two daughters.

Details & Specs

Title:The Cure: How a Father Raised $100 Million--and Bucked the Medical Establishment--in a Quest to…Format:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.92 inPublished:December 29, 2009Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006073440X

ISBN - 13:9780060734404

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Cure: How a Father Raised $100 Million--and Bucked the Medical Establishment--in a Quest to Save His Chil

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Intensely moving, powerful...This gripping account will inspire and sustain hope for all parents whose children are stricken with disease.”