The Darkest Hour: A Novel by Tony Schumacher

The Darkest Hour: A Novel

byTony Schumacher

Paperback | June 16, 2015

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.49 online 
$18.50
Earn 92 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

A crackling, highly imaginative thriller debut in the vein of W.E.B. Griffin and Philip Kerr, set in German-occupied London at the close of World War II, in which a hardened British detective jeopardizes his own life to save an innocent soul and achieve the impossible—redemption.

London, 1946. The Nazis have conquered the British, and now occupy Great Britain, using brutality and fear to control its citizens. John Henry Rossett, a decorated British war hero and former police sergeant, has been reassigned to the Office of Jewish Affairs. He now answers to the SS, one of the most powerful and terrifying organizations in the Third Reich.

Rossett is a man accustomed to obeying commands, but he’s now assigned a job he did not ask for—and cannot refuse: rounding up Jews for deportation, including men and women he’s known his whole life. But they are not the only victims, for the war took Rossett’s wife and son, and shattered his own humanity.

Then he finds Jacob, a young Jewish child, hiding in an abandoned building, who touches something in Rossett that he thought was long dead.

Determined to save the innocent boy, Rossett takes him on the run, with the Nazis in pursuit. But they are not the only hunters following his trail. The Royalist Resistance and the Communists want him, too. Each faction has its own agenda, and Rossett will soon learn that none of them can be trusted . . . and all of them are deadly. 

About The Author

Tony Schumacher has written for theGuardianand theHuffington Post, and he is a regular contributor to BBC Radio and London's LBC Radio. He has been a policeman, stand-up comedian, bouncer, jeweler, taxi driver, perfume salesman, actor, and garbage collector, among other occupations. He currently lives outside of Liverpool, where he is ...
An Army Of One: A John Rossett Novel
An Army Of One: A John Rossett Novel

by Tony Schumacher

$31.14$34.99

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

The British Lion: A Novel
The British Lion: A Novel

by Tony Schumacher

$11.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:The Darkest Hour: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:464 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 1.05 inPublished:June 16, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062339370

ISBN - 13:9780062339379

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of The Darkest Hour: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“A powerful tale of corrosive suspicion and electrifying danger. . . . The Darkest Hour is an exciting and breathtakingly plausible first novel brimming with suspense and starring a superbly-drawn cast of characters. . . . A cleverly nuanced and convincing thriller.”