The Daughter: A Novel by Jane ShemiltThe Daughter: A Novel by Jane Shemilt

The Daughter: A Novel

byJane Shemilt

Paperback | March 3, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.95 online 
$18.50 list price save 8%
Earn 85 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

In the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Tana French, and Ruth Rendell, this compelling and clever psychological thriller spins the harrowing tale of a mother’s obsessive search for her missing daughter.

Jenny is a successful family doctor, the mother of three great teenagers, married to a celebrated neurosurgeon.

But when her youngest child, fifteen-year-old Naomi, doesn’t come home after her school play, Jenny’s seemingly ideal life begins to crumble. The authorities launch a nationwide search with no success. Naomi has vanished, and her family is broken.

As the months pass, the worst-case scenarios—kidnapping, murder—seem less plausible. The trail has gone cold. Yet for a desperate Jenny, the search has barely begun. More than a year after her daughter’s disappearance, she’s still digging for answers—and what she finds disturbs her. Everyone she’s trusted, everyone she thought she knew, has been keeping secrets, especially Naomi. Piecing together the traces her daughter left behind, Jenny discovers a very different Naomi from the girl she thought she’d raised. 

While working full time as a physician, Jane Shemilt received an M.A. in creative writing. She was shortlisted for the Janklow and Nesbit award and the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize forThe Daughter, her first novel. She and her husband, a professor of neurosurgery, have five children and live in Bristol, England.
Ma fille
Ma fille

by Jane SHEMILT

$27.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Am Anfang war die Schuld: Roman
Am Anfang war die Schuld: Roman

by Jane Shemilt

$10.69$13.31

Available for download

Not available in stores

Ma fille - Extrait
Ma fille - Extrait

by Jane SHEMILT

$0.00

Available for download

Not available in stores

Shop this author
Title:The Daughter: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.79 inPublished:March 3, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062320475

ISBN - 13:9780062320476

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Daughter: A Novel

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great read! You might be tempted to skip the pages to get to the end... Beautifully written, I love a book that inspires you to think further than the written words. The end might not be what you expected but isn't that what a good book is all about?! #plumreview
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great suspense novel and incredible twist This was one of the best suspense novels I've read in a long time. If you love crazy twists, this is the one for you. Just as you think everything has been resolved - Ba-Bam! This last three pages happen and you won't believe what you're reading. An insane thrill ride and very well written.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Average This was just an average novel.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just average This is just an average novel, I would not recommend it.
Date published: 2017-04-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Meh 2.5 stars What just happened? I love me a mystery novel but man, this one was so frustrating that I sit here, having just finished reading it, not knowing whether I enjoyed it or hated it. Normally, I love stories written from multiple perspectives. 'The Daughter' is written all from Jenny (the mom's point of view, but over a fifteen month time gap. One part of the story is current day, or a year after the disappearance, and the other is at the time of the disappearance. I found that I totally enjoyed the part if the story taking place in the past but the current day narrative was very slow moving and almost seemed unnecessary at times. As the story progressed, that got better but overall, I found the story definitely dragged. When it comes to the characters, for the most part, I enjoyed them all. I thought Ted was a piece of junk and wanted to punch Ed on multiple occasions, but for the flow of the story, I thought they were all very well written. I related most to Jenny but as a mom, I wouldn't really expect much different. The part of the story that just fell flat, to me anyways, was the ending. I still don't really feel like we know what happened the night Naomi disappeared and I don't feel like we know what the future holds. I want more detail and given that the book is closing in on 400 pages, I think we should have some ideas that answer these, very important, questions. Overall, good but not great... I never like finish a book and feeling unsatisfied.
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was okay! This book was very hard to get in to. I don't think I was fully interested until after about 150 pages. I found it very slow. The story was interesting but everything happened very slowly. Not one of my favorites. The ending was okay, not what I had expected.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I enjoyed it #plumreview I njpy d the developing relationships between the characters.
Date published: 2017-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish the ending was different! I loved this book until the ending. It kept me reading and I really couldn't put it down. I must say though, that I was upset with the ending it kinda left us hanging and unsure of what happens. I don't like when a book leaves me guessing after I'm done with it. I give this a 4/5 only because the ending left me saying huh?
Date published: 2016-12-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good premise slow building The premise sounded good, yet it dragged on and on about the mother's grief, which I get having kids myself losing a child even worse a missing child, but I found myself getting impatient with the story going nowhere. Could have been a better book if the story didn't center so much on the mother's grief and her suprise at not knowing her kids.
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Debut novel The Daughter is Jane Shemilt's debut novel. How's this for a 'grab your attention and keep you reading until you're going to be tired in the morning opening line'.... "If only. If only I"d been listening. If only I'd been watching. If only I could start again, exactly one year ago." Jenny and her husband Ted are parents to teenagers Naomi and twins Theo and Ed. They're both busy physicians and there just never seems to be enough time to keep on top of everything - things get missed. In this case, it's Naomi who goes missing. Shemilt tells the story of this family from the perspective of Jenny then - just before Naomi's disappearance - and now, one year later with Naomi still missing. I loved this dual narrative. A hint or a line from the past or a remembered nuance sparks a segue to the present and back again. With hindsight, Jenny relives the months leading up to Naomi's disappearance. Did she focus on herself too much? What did she miss? How did she not act on the changes she noticed in her daughter? How could she be blind to what was happening in her family? Shemilt's story tells the story of a horrific loss in a seemingly idyllic family - and exposes the secrets and problems beneath that exterior gloss. But the pressing question is what happened to Naomi? Is she still alive? And Jenny comes to realize she didn't really know her daughter at all.... The publisher's blurb reads: "a compelling and clever psychological thriller". I'm not sure about the thriller label, but The Daughter kept me engrossed from start to finish. I was engaged in Jenny's self recriminations (I did found Jenny difficult to like or feel sympathy for though) and got caught up in the search for Naomi. For me, the book was a slow measured suspense novel, with the focus on the mother rather than the daughter. The ending wasn't quite what I had expected, but as I thought about it, I decided I liked it after all. The Daughter was a good debut and I would pick up the next book from this author.
Date published: 2015-03-17

Editorial Reviews

“Jenny is a strong believable character…[her] journey is a memorable one.”