The Daughter: A Novel

Paperback | March 3, 2015

byJane Shemilt

not yet rated|write a review

In the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Tana French, and Ruth Rendell, this compelling and clever psychological thriller spins the harrowing tale of a mother’s obsessive search for her missing daughter.

Jenny is a successful family doctor, the mother of three great teenagers, married to a celebrated neurosurgeon.

But when her youngest child, fifteen-year-old Naomi, doesn’t come home after her school play, Jenny’s seemingly ideal life begins to crumble. The authorities launch a nationwide search with no success. Naomi has vanished, and her family is broken.

As the months pass, the worst-case scenarios—kidnapping, murder—seem less plausible. The trail has gone cold. Yet for a desperate Jenny, the search has barely begun. More than a year after her daughter’s disappearance, she’s still digging for answers—and what she finds disturbs her. Everyone she’s trusted, everyone she thought she knew, has been keeping secrets, especially Naomi. Piecing together the traces her daughter left behind, Jenny discovers a very different Naomi from the girl she thought she’d raised. 

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.87
$18.50 list price save 41%
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
HURRY, ONLY 1 LEFT!
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

In the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Tana French, and Ruth Rendell, this compelling and clever psychological thriller spins the harrowing tale of a mother’s obsessive search for her missing daughter.Jenny is a successful family doctor, the mother of three great teenagers, married to a celebrated neurosurgeon.But when her youngest child, ...

From the Jacket

Jenny is a successful family doctor, the mother of three great teenagers, married to a celebrated neurosurgeon.But when her youngest child, fifteen-year-old Naomi, doesn't come home after her school play, Jenny's seemingly ideal life begins to crumble. The authorities launch a nationwide search with no success. Naomi has vanished, and ...

While working full time as a physician, Jane Shemilt received an M.A. in creative writing. She was shortlisted for the Janklow and Nesbit award and the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize forThe Daughter, her first novel. She and her husband, a professor of neurosurgery, have five children and live in Bristol, England.

other books by Jane Shemilt

Am Anfang war die Schuld: Roman
Am Anfang war die Schuld: Roman

Kobo ebook|Apr 27 2015

$10.09$13.11list pricesave 23%
Ma fille - Extrait
Ma fille - Extrait

Kobo ebook|Apr 21 2016

$0.00

Ma fille
Ma fille

Kobo ebook|May 4 2016

$27.99

Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.79 inPublished:March 3, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062320475

ISBN - 13:9780062320476

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Daughter: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Jenny is a strong believable character…[her] journey is a memorable one.”