The Dead Tracks: David Raker Novel #2

Kobo ebook | February 3, 2011

byTim Weaver

not yet rated|write a review

The Dead Tracks is the second in the David Raker series from Tim Weaver.

A serial killer more terrifying than you could ever imagine . . .

Seventeen-year-old Megan Carver was an unlikely runaway. A straight-A student from a happy home, she studied hard and rarely got into trouble. Six months on, she's never been found.

Missing persons investigator David Raker knows what it's like to grieve. He knows the shadowy world of the lost too. So, when he's hired by Megan's parents to find out what happened, he recognizes their pain - but knows that the darkest secrets can be buried deep.

And Megan's secrets could cost him his life.

Because as Raker investigates her disappearance, he realizes everything is a lie. People close to her are dead. Others are too terrified to talk. And soon the conspiracy of silence leads Raker towards a forest on the edge of the city. A place with a horrifying history - which was once the hunting ground for a brutal, twisted serial killer.

A place known as the Dead Tracks. . .

Hot on the heels of Chasing the Dead, The Dead Tracks by Tim Weaver revisits David Raker and his complex missing persons cases. Fans of Mo Hayder's Gone and Michael Marshall Smith's The Straw Men should look this way.

Praise for Tim Weaver:

'Impressive debut . . . Fans of Mo Hayder will be in seventh hell' Guardian

'Perfect plotting, great characterisation, and the kind of payoff that a thriller of this calibre deserves' Bookgeeks

'A taut thriller' Barry Forshaw

Tim Weaver was born in 1977. At eighteen, he left school and started working in magazine journalism, and has since gone on to develop a successful career writing about films, TV, sport, games and technology. He is married with a young daughter, and lives near Bath. Vanished is Tim's third David Raker novel, which follow his highly acclaimed debut Chasing the Dead and its sequel, The Dead Tracks. Tortured by his wife's early death, David Raker is one of the most charismatic, sensitive and unique missing persons investigators in current crime fiction.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.59 online
$13.76 list price (save 23%)
Available for download
Not available in stores

From the Publisher

The Dead Tracks is the second in the David Raker series from Tim Weaver. A serial killer more terrifying than you could ever imagine . . . Seventeen-year-old Megan Carver was an unlikely runaway. A straight-A student from a happy home, she studied hard and rarely got into trouble. Six months on, she's never been found. Missing person...

Format:Kobo ebookPublished:February 3, 2011Publisher:Penguin Books LtdLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0141963883

ISBN - 13:9780141963884

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Dead Tracks: David Raker Novel #2

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from He is always intriguing This author is fine stor teller,his main character is always in character and though not always likeable true to his ethos,i enjoy tim weaver i like his writing style and his glimpse into humanity by use of looking iNto peoples rectins and characteristics
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good read I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It was very exciting and therefore difficult to put down although I do find his Raker novels a bit similar. It encouraged me to look for the next Raker stories.
Date published: 2015-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great read! I have found a favourite author, I literally couldn't put the first book down and this one is no different! Great author, I'm recommending Tim Weaver's books to anyone that will listen :-)
Date published: 2015-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Dead Tracks Excellent. Keeps you gripped from start to finish.
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Dead Tracks An excellent read that is difficult to put down.
Date published: 2014-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The dead tracks Britains Lee child. Gripping story
Date published: 2014-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The dead tracks A fantastic read, kept me guessing all the way through! Finished it in 3 days!
Date published: 2014-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The dead tracks Hooked straight away! If you like crime these are definitely worth a read!
Date published: 2014-01-22