The Deptford Trilogy: Fifth Business; The Manticore; World Of Wonders by Robertson Davies

The Deptford Trilogy: Fifth Business; The Manticore; World Of Wonders

byRobertson Davies

Paperback | October 1, 1990

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.79 online 
Earn 114 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


Fifth Business
Ramsay is a man twice born, a man who has returned from the hell of the battle-grave at Passchendaele in World War I decorated with the Victoria Cross and destined to be caught in a no man's land where memory, history, and myth collide. As Ramsay tells his story, it begins to seem that from boyhood, he has exerted a perhaps mystical, perhaps pernicious, influence on those around him. His apparently innocent involvement in such innocuous events as the throwing of a snowball or the teaching of card tricks to a small boy in the end prove neither innocent nor innocuous. Fifth Business stands alone as a remarkable story told by a rational man who discovers that the marvelous is only another aspect of the real.

The Manticore
Around a mysterious death is woven a glittering, fantastical, cunningly contrived trilogy of novels. Luring the reader down labyrinthine tunnels of myth, history and magic, THE DEPTFORD TRILOGY provides an exhilarating antidote to a world from where 'the fear and dread and splendour of wonder have been banished'.

World of Wonders
This is the third novel in Davies's major work, The Deptford Trilogy. This novel tells the life story of the unfortunate boy introduced in The Fifth Business, who was spirited away from his Canadian home by one of the members of a traveling side show, the Wanless World of Wonders.

About The Author

Robertson Davies (1913–1995) was born and raised in Ontario, and was educated at a variety of schools, including Upper Canada College, Queen’s University, and Balliol College, Oxford. He had three successive careers: as an actor with the Old Vic Company in England; as publisher of the Peterborough Examiner; and as university professor ...
Fifth Business
Fifth Business

by Robertson Davies


In stock online

Available in stores

World Of Wonders
World Of Wonders

by Robertson Davies


In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:The Deptford Trilogy: Fifth Business; The Manticore; World Of WondersFormat:PaperbackDimensions:832 pages, 7.8 × 5 × 1.4 inPublished:October 1, 1990Publisher:Penguin Publishing Group

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0140147551

ISBN - 13:9780140147551

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of The Deptford Trilogy: Fifth Business; The Manticore; World Of Wonders


Extra Content

From Our Editors

Gathering in one volume Fifth Business, The Manticore and World of Wonders, The Deptford Trilogy collects three novels about the lives of three men from a small Ontario town who are bound and transformed by a jarring memory from their childhood. From the wayward path of a maliciously thrown snowball crumbles all sorts of issues that take a lifetime to iron out, from the dementia-suffering child of a premature birth to the guilt-ridden life of the snowball thrower. All three involved are somehow haunted - one to death - by this accident. It is a testament to Robertson Davies' power as a writer that he can so eerily depict the exponentially grave aftermath of an otherwise minute moment.