The Devouring Gray by Christine Lynn HermanThe Devouring Gray by Christine Lynn Herman

The Devouring Gray

byChristine Lynn Herman

Hardcover | April 2, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.79 online 
$19.99 list price save 11%
Earn 89 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

"Fans of The Raven Boys and Stranger Things rejoice: This is your new obsession."-Claire Legrand, New York Times best-selling author of Furyborn

After the death of her sister, seventeen-year-old Violet Saunders finds herself dragged to Four Paths, New York. Violet may be a newcomer, but she soon learns her mother isn't: They belong to one of the revered founding families of the town, where stone bells hang above every doorway and danger lurks in the depths of the woods.
Justin Hawthorne's bloodline has protected Four Paths for generations from the Gray-a lifeless dimension that imprisons a brutal monster. After Justin fails to inherit his family's powers, his mother is determined to keep this humiliation a secret. But Justin can't let go of the future he was promised and the town he swore to protect.
Ever since Harper Carlisle lost her hand to an accident that left her stranded in the Gray for days, she has vowed revenge on the person who abandoned her: Justin Hawthorne. There are ripples of dissent in Four Paths, and Harper seizes an opportunity to take down the Hawthornes and change her destiny-to what extent, even she doesn't yet know.
The Gray is growing stronger every day, and its victims are piling up. When Violet accidentally unleashes the monster, all three must band together with the other Founders to unearth the dark truths behind their families' abilities... before the Gray devours them all.
Born in New York City but raised in Japan and Hong Kong, Christine Lynn Herman subscribes to the firm philosophy that home is where her books are. She returned to the United States to study at the University of Rochester, where she received the Dean's Prize in fiction and an Honors English degree. Currently, Christine and her books res...
Loading
Title:The Devouring GrayFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:368 pages, 8.6 × 6 × 1.25 inShipping dimensions:8.6 × 6 × 1.25 inPublished:April 2, 2019Publisher:Disney-HyperionLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1368024963

ISBN - 13:9781368024969

Appropriate for ages: 12

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spooky story I loved this book! It’s spooky and suspenseful. This story has been compared to The Raven Cycle and Stranger Things, and I was definitely reminded of both of those series while reading it. In this story, there is a place in the woods called the Gray. It is like an alternate version of the forest where time feels different. The Gray holds a beast that kills people in the town, so the founding families use their special powers to defend the town. This reminded me of the Upside Down in Stranger Things, which is also like an alternate version of their town. This town felt like a real place because of all of the history it had. There were four founding families, each of which has their own special power, including seeing the future and bringing stone to life. There was so much history of the town that it seemed like a real place, though it would be a creepy town if it were real. The characters were also well developed. They had intense histories, including losing family members. The three main characters have to do rituals to get their powers, if they have them. If they don’t have powers, the town looks down on them. The narrative alternated between the perspectives of Justin, Violet, and Harper. They are each in a different position in terms of their relation to the town and the Gray, so they have very different perspectives of the town. I really enjoyed this story. The ending was open ended, so I’m curious to see what happens in the rest of the series. I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Scary tale with things that go bump in the night Many thanks to NetGalley, Disney Book Group and Christine Lynn Herman for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. My opinions are 100% my own and independent of receiving an advance copy. Are you ready for what’s in The Gray? It is haunting and horrifying. It sent shivers down my spine and made me pull up the covers a little tighter and I loved every second of it. I read this all in one shot - I couldn’t put it down and I enjoyed every second of it. The writing is gorgeous, evocative, descriptive. The contrast between the forest that surrounds the town, the green of the trees, the smell of the leaves, compared to the gray where there is an absence of sound, breath and colour. Don’t forget those bodies turned inside out and upside down. We never get a clear picture of the monster, but its personality is just outside of our grasp. So frightening for Violet who had no frame of reference for what was happening, thrown into the gray. I love that the outsider, Violet, is the moral compass. She can see so clearly what is wrong because of her fresh perspective. The others have been bogged down by history and responsibility. Their grooves already dug out for them. Such a clear picture emerges of the town of Four Paths, off the beaten path, a place where everyone knows its secrets, where strangers aren’t welcome. You can feel the smallness of the town, the expectations and judgement palpable. Imagine a high school where there aren’t enough seniors to make a class and kids who have been together their whole lives. Yet, Herman introduces the fluidity of their sexuality without it being a thing if you are bisexual, gay or straight. The four teens who have to right the wrongs of their parents, fix the mistakes of the past and forge their own way forward. Can they? Or will they, too, find themselves seduced by power. There is so much in this book, great relationships between characters, magical realism, and a good old fashioned scary story with things that go bump in the night. Bonus were the amazing illustrations at the beginning of each chapter.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Scary tale with things that go bump in the night Many thanks to NetGalley, Disney Book Group and Christine Lynn Herman for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. My opinions are 100% my own and independent of receiving an advance copy. Are you ready for what’s in The Gray? It is haunting and horrifying. It sent shivers down my spine and made me pull up the covers a little tighter and I loved every second of it. I read this all in one shot - I couldn’t put it down and I enjoyed every second of it. The writing is gorgeous, evocative, descriptive. The contrast between the forest that surrounds the town, the green of the trees, the smell of the leaves, compared to the gray where there is an absence of sound, breath and colour. Don’t forget those bodies turned inside out and upside down. We never get a clear picture of the monster, but its personality is just outside of our grasp. So frightening for Violet who had no frame of reference for what was happening, thrown into the gray. I love that the outsider, Violet, is the moral compass. She can see so clearly what is wrong because of her fresh perspective. The others have been bogged down by history and responsibility. Their grooves already dug out for them. Such a clear picture emerges of the town of Four Paths, off the beaten path, a place where everyone knows its secrets, where strangers aren’t welcome. You can feel the smallness of the town, the expectations and judgement palpable. Imagine a high school where there aren’t enough seniors to make a class and kids who have been together their whole lives. Yet, Herman introduces the fluidity of their sexuality without it being a thing if you are bisexual, gay or straight. The four teens who have to right the wrongs of their parents, fix the mistakes of the past and forge their own way forward. Can they? Or will they, too, find themselves seduced by power. There is so much in this book, great relationships between characters, magical realism, and a good old fashioned scary story with things that go bump in the night. Bonus were the amazing illustrations at the beginning of each chapter.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Intersting First Book I was so excited to read this book, partly because of the description, partly because of the cover, and partly because it was pitched as The Raven Boys meets Stranger Things. Although I had a few problems with some of the pacing of the book, overall I really enjoyed reading this! The Devouring Gray follows the story of Violet, who has to move away from her home and to her mother's hometown after the death of her sister Rosie. Little did Violet know that the town of Four Points harbours many secrets, from menacing forests to a Beast that seems to be out for blood. Violet soon finds out that she is a descendant of one of the original four founding families, who are still revered to this day, and now needs to help the other found families protect the town from the bloodthirsty Gray and Beast. I initially as very drawn into the writing style of this book. It was extremely atmospheric and it really made me feel like I was in the small town, surrounded by trees and forests. I also really enjoyed how the mystery in this book played out. We were given hints and information little by little and, as a reader, you really related to Violet, who knew nothing about the town and the inner workings of the Gray. I also enjoyed learning about each family, their rituals, their powers, and each of the kids we followed throughout the book. The one issue I had with the storytelling was the amount of info dumps that were present, especially at the beginning of the story. I really enjoyed the way each character was written. Every character in this book was written with flaws, and no one was the perfect person. It was really refreshing to read! In this book, we follow three perspectives: Violet, Harper and Justin. Justin is the character I think grew the most in this book, and was also the character who had the most mystery surrounding him. I am glad he came into his own by the end and was able to stand up for himself and those he loves. Harper was really interesting as well, but was the POV character I felt like I got to know the least. I really also wished I could have seen more from Isaac and May, as they both seem like really complex people, and I feel like I barely got to know them. Although I liked the direction most of the romantic relationships went in this book, I wasn't super excited about how some went (looking at the reveal at the end that was supposed to be a "twist" and "shocking") Overall this was a great book, and I am interested to see where this series goes.
Date published: 2019-04-06

Editorial Reviews

"The only thing better than a chosen one is four chosen ones, and the only thing better than four chosen ones is four chosen ones who don't like each other very much. The Devouring Gray takes privilege and legacy by the throat and never lets go."-E. K. Johnston, #1 New York Times best-selling author of Star Wars: Ahsoka and A Thousand Nights