The Doomsday Key: A Sigma Force Novel

Mass Market Paperback | May 25, 2010

byJames Rollins

not yet rated|write a review

“James Rollins knows adventure.”

Chicago Sun Times

With The Doomsday Key—the latest Sigma Force blockbuster from New York Times bestselling author James Rollins—the critically acclaimed thrill-master continues to dazzle with an electrifying combination of history, religion, science, and adventure. The hero of Map of Bones, The Black Order, and other exceptional Rollins roller-coaster rides, Commander Pierce returns to solve a centuries-old secret, one coded in prophecies of doom—in a story that fans of Michael Crichton, Douglas Preston, and Indiana Jones will not be able to put down!

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.45 online
$12.99 list price (save 19%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

“James Rollins knows adventure.”—Chicago Sun TimesWith The Doomsday Key—the latest Sigma Force blockbuster from New York Times bestselling author James Rollins—the critically acclaimed thrill-master continues to dazzle with an electrifying combination of history, religion, science, and adventure. The hero of Map of Bones, The Black Ord...

From the Jacket

At Princeton University, a famed geneticist dies inside a biohazard lab. In Rome, a Vatican archaeologist is found dead in St. Peter's Basilica. In Africa, a U.S. senator's son is slain outside a Red Cross camp. Three murder victims on three continents, linked by a pagan Druidic cross burned into their flesh.Commander Gray Pierce and S...

James Rollins is theNew York Timesbestselling author of thrillers that have been translated into forty languages. His Sigma series has been lauded as one of the "top crowd pleasers" (New York Times) and one of the "hottest summer reads" (Peoplemagazine). Acclaimed for his originality, Rollins unveils unseen worlds, scientific breakthro...

other books by James Rollins

The Seventh Plague: A Sigma Force Novel
The Seventh Plague: A Sigma Force Novel

Paperback|Dec 13 2016

$19.90 online$21.99list price(save 9%)
War Hawk: A Tucker Wayne Novel
War Hawk: A Tucker Wayne Novel

Mass Market Paperback|Dec 27 2016

$11.12 online$12.50list price(save 11%)
Mission iceberg
Mission iceberg

Paperback|Nov 14 2011

$29.95

see all books by James Rollins
Format:Mass Market PaperbackDimensions:560 pages, 7.5 × 4.19 × 1.26 inPublished:May 25, 2010Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006123141X

ISBN - 13:9780061231414

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Doomsday Key: A Sigma Force Novel

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy read Typical thriller action adventure. Nice to pass the time
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Doomsday Key by James Rollins James Rollins action/adventure thriller novels are always far fetched, though the scientific details always have a basis in fact. This time, in The Doomsday Key, the scientific storyline delves into the areas of genetically modified foods, fungal viruses and super enzymes. The regular cast of characters are there, Gray, Monk, Painter, etc. with the addition of Rachel and Seichan in a new twist. I'm always very keen on the scientific elements and arcane bits of knowledge, and in this, the novel does not disappoint. But The Doomsday Key does have too much of an overemphasis of the scientific problem at hand and I missed the emotional intensivness of the past two novels in the series, The Last Oracle and The Judas Strain. I found this storyline less balanced and fluid in the doling out of details and the switching between description and character interaction. Consequently the pace of the story gets bogged down. But the storyline is redeemed with the emotional wrenching and poignant events at the end that wrap up all the loose ends. James Rollins certainly thrills me and he will you too!
Date published: 2010-06-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sigma Force returns Sigma Force returns in The Doomsday Key. Commander Gray Pierce and his Sigma team are sent to investigate when three murders on three continents are linked. All the victims were branded with a Druid symbol. A discovery in a peat bog in England is unthinkably tied to a bio tech company producing genetically modified seeds and crops. The bio tech company - Viatus- has revived something that may have been better off left buried in the past. Gray and his team race around the world to discover the key - the Doomsday Key - that may be the only way to stopping Viatus and saving the world. Rollins writes non stop adventure with lots of action. His characters are bigger than life and twice as tough. There are sub plots involving interpersonal relationships, but the book is plot driven. What's intriguing is the appendix at the end of the book - Truth or Fiction. Many of the story lines Rollins uses in his plots are true. Fascinatingly and frighteningly true, combining modern day science and the mysteries of the past. If you're looking for a rollicking adventure tale, you'd be hard pressed to beat Rollins. Fans of Steve Berry and Clive Cussler would enjoy James Rollins.
Date published: 2009-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once again, a GREAT BOOK! I could not wait to get this book and find out what happens to the characters, Once again James Rollins has pulled it off and written another great book, this novel is very good and I wasn't dissapointed. I've read all of James Rollins books, I have enjoyed them all. The Sigma series as well as their characters are great. I can't wait for his next novel the Alter of Eden to come out later this year.
Date published: 2009-08-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from A tad bit disappointing One thing I will have to say about Rollins is that his Sigma Force books are getting better. The down side is that they all contain the same predicatable plot, banalities and cliches. And all their main characters seems to have acquired superhuman qualities, meaning that no matter what predicament they face they will always emerge unscathed, alive and well (note Monk's incredible return in the last book). Even the promise on the book jacket of one of the characters being sacrificed becomes one big farce. But then you remember that Rollins wrote the book version of latest Indiana Jones movie (a terrible movie) and it seems that the memory lingered on when he wrote his latest Sigma Force story. The story is interesting enough and builds quite nicely but towards the end it just reverts to the same old endgame and it was disappointing, leaving a bitter after taste. And I rushed to get this book. I'm starting to hope fervently that the next Sigma Force book is the last one and that there is complete closure. One thing that Rollins has going for him is that he's definitely a much better writer than Dan Brown. If you're a diehard fan of ridiculous premises, non stop unbelievable action, razor sharp super intelligent characters who solve riddles and puzzles in the blink of an eye that has had historians and experts stumped for years then you'll enjoy this book, as you will Clive Cussler's series. Rollins' character, Painter Crowe happened to be in a dire situation in this book whereby he needed a miracle to save himself and others. Crowe thought back to how situations similar to the one he was facing were dipicted in movies and the ease of which they were solved. Cinematic Crap is what he called it. Unforutnately for a good portion of this book this sentiment reverbrates amongst the pages, making you wonder about the irony of Crowe's thoughts, and Rollins' words.
Date published: 2009-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Read James Rollins novels rock, especially the Sigma Force series. I read this one in two sittings. He combines globe trotting locations, mystery, adventure, interesting characters and page turning action often combining fiction with facts. Every book I've read of his has kept me reading often past the the stroke of midnight. Keep them coming James. My only wish? Is that I could collect them all - in hardcover..
Date published: 2009-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thrillride Rollins' newest Sigma Force action thriller opens by taking the reader back in time to the spring of 1086 and a small English village totally 'wasted', every man, woman, child and animal dead. He then races forward to present day where an archaeologist is hunted down and killed inside the Vatican for the contents of a tiny pouch with odd symbols on it. Meanwhile, in Africa, a U.S. senator's son working on genetically engineered crops is murdered in a brutal attack that wipes out the entire test site. What could possible be the link between all these compelling events? Gray Pierce, Painter Crowe, Monk and all the rest of the Sigma team find themselves in a life or death race to connect the dots. The thing I like most about Rollins' thrillers is the way he weaves ancient legends and symbols into modern day plots and technological threats. In The Doomsday Key Rollins not only treats us to the ancient myths of the British Isles, which hide the secret to the Doomsday Key, he pours the modern day dangers of genetic crop modification and bioprospecting into the mix. As usual Rollins delivers lots of action and pulse-pounding suspense. There are plenty of twists and turns in the plot to keep you guessing and more than a few surprises as old enemies become new allies (or are they?). Fans of Rollins and the Sigma series will be happy to see that The Doomsday Key ends on a cryptic note... “A war is coming,” says Painter Crowe. All I can say is bring it on, I can't wait to read more. If you are new to the Sigma series, I recommend starting with Map of Bones. It is still the best of the series and will introduce you to all the characters.
Date published: 2009-07-03

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Rollins’s prose explodes off the page in a twisty and compelling thriller....Swashbuckling adventure, elite team effort, and religious symbology all add up to another gripping andterrifying read....An amazing and brilliant technothriller that might be his best to date.