The Dragon's Gate

Paperback | November 7, 2017

byBarry WolvertonIllustratorDave Stevenson

not yet rated|write a review

An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized second book in acclaimed author Barry Wolverton’s Chronicles of the Black Tulip, perfect for fans of The Glass Sentence and the Books of Beginning series.

A magical white jade stone and a map inscribed in bone that may be the key to an even greater mystery—this is the treasure Bren and Mouse have found buried on the Vanishing Island.

Mouse is determined to follow the map to a place called the Dragon’s Gate, convinced it will explain who she really is and the powers she possesses. Bren has had enough adventure for one lifetime and would like nothing more than to return to his father in Map. But nothing goes according to plan when the survivors of the Albatross are rescued by Lady Jean Barrett, a charismatic archaeologist with a sense of destiny.

Barrett is on a quest for the Eight Immortals, ancient artifacts she believes are buried in the tomb of China’s first emperor—the location of which has been hidden for nearly two thousand years. The only way for Bren, Mouse, and Barrett to all get what they want is to work together on a dangerous journey into the heart of China, a kingdom long closed to outsiders, where the greatest secrets about Mouse and Bren are waiting to be unveiled.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.50

Pre-order online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized second book in acclaimed author Barry Wolverton’s Chronicles of the Black Tulip, perfect for fans of The Glass Sentence and the Books of Beginning series.A magical white jade stone and a map inscribed in bone that...

Barry Wolverton is the author of The Vanishing Island, the first book in the Chronicles of the Black Tulip, as well as Neversink. He has more than fifteen years’ experience creating books, documentary television scripts, and website content for international networks and publishers, including National Geographic, Scholastic.com, the Li...

other books by Barry Wolverton

The Sea of the Dead
The Sea of the Dead

Kobo ebook|Dec 12 2017

$11.99

The Vanishing Island
The Vanishing Island

Kobo ebook|Sep 1 2015

$7.99

The Dragon's Gate
The Dragon's Gate

Kobo ebook|Nov 1 2016

$11.99

see all books by Barry Wolverton
Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 7.62 × 5.12 × 0.7 inPublished:November 7, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062221949

ISBN - 13:9780062221940

Customer Reviews of The Dragon's Gate

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Wolverton debuts with a whimsical fantasy that does for Arctic waterfowl what the Redwall series did for woodland creatures.... The author is a natural storyteller, giving readers a charmingly wry, offbeat tale that draws on mythology and intersperses a good amount of information about Arctic wildlife amid the story’s humor.”