The Dragon's Gate by Barry WolvertonThe Dragon's Gate by Barry Wolverton

The Dragon's Gate

byBarry WolvertonIllustratorDave Stevenson

Paperback | November 7, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$7.65 online 
$8.50 list price save 10%
Earn 38 plum® points

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized second book in acclaimed author Barry Wolverton’s Chronicles of the Black Tulip, perfect for fans of The Glass Sentence and the Books of Beginning series.

A magical white jade stone and a map inscribed in bone that may be the key to an even greater mystery—this is the treasure Bren and Mouse have found buried on the Vanishing Island.

Mouse is determined to follow the map to a place called the Dragon’s Gate, convinced it will explain who she really is and the powers she possesses. Bren has had enough adventure for one lifetime and would like nothing more than to return to his father in Map. But nothing goes according to plan when the survivors of the Albatross are rescued by Lady Jean Barrett, a charismatic archaeologist with a sense of destiny.

Barrett is on a quest for the Eight Immortals, ancient artifacts she believes are buried in the tomb of China’s first emperor—the location of which has been hidden for nearly two thousand years. The only way for Bren, Mouse, and Barrett to all get what they want is to work together on a dangerous journey into the heart of China, a kingdom long closed to outsiders, where the greatest secrets about Mouse and Bren are waiting to be unveiled.

Barry Wolverton is the author of The Vanishing Island, the first book in the Chronicles of the Black Tulip, as well as Neversink. He has more than fifteen years’ experience creating books, documentary television scripts, and website content for international networks and publishers, including National Geographic, Scholastic.com, the Li...
The Sea Of The Dead
The Sea Of The Dead

by Barry Wolverton

$18.69$21.00

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

Neversink
Neversink

by Barry Wolverton

$7.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

The Dragon's Gate
The Dragon's Gate

by Barry Wolverton

$11.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Shop this author
Title:The Dragon's GateFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 7.62 × 5.12 × 0.7 inPublished:November 7, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062221949

ISBN - 13:9780062221940

Customer Reviews of The Dragon's Gate

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Wolverton debuts with a whimsical fantasy that does for Arctic waterfowl what the Redwall series did for woodland creatures.... The author is a natural storyteller, giving readers a charmingly wry, offbeat tale that draws on mythology and intersperses a good amount of information about Arctic wildlife amid the story’s humor.”