The Dressmaker's Dowry: A Novel by Meredith JaegerThe Dressmaker's Dowry: A Novel by Meredith Jaeger

The Dressmaker's Dowry: A Novel

byMeredith Jaeger

Paperback | February 7, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.26 online 
$19.99 list price save 8%
Earn 91 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

For readers of Lucinda Riley, Sarah Jio, or Susan Meissner, this gripping historical debut novel tells the story of two women: one, an immigrant seamstress who disappears from San Francisco’s gritty streets in 1876, and the other, a young woman in present day who must delve into the secrets of her husband’s wealthy family only to discover that she and the missing dressmaker might be connected in unexpected ways.

An exquisite ring, passed down through generations, connects two women who learn that love is a choice, and forgiveness is the key to freedom...

San Francisco: 1876

Immigrant dressmakers Hannelore Schaeffer and Margaret O'Brien struggle to provide food for their siblings, while mending delicate clothing for the city's most affluent ladies. When wealthy Lucas Havensworth enters the shop, Hanna's future is altered forever. With Margaret's encouragement and the power of a borrowed green dress, Hanna dares to see herself as worthy of him. Then Margaret disappears, and Hanna turns to Lucas. Braving the gritty streets of the Barbary Coast and daring to enter the mansions of Nob Hill, Hanna stumbles upon Margaret’s fate, forcing her to make a devastating decision...one that will echo through the generations.

San Francisco: Present Day

In her elegant Marina apartment overlooking the Golden Gate Bridge, Sarah Havensworth struggles to complete the novel she quit her job for. Afraid to tell her husband of her writer’s block, Sarah is also hiding a darker secret—one that has haunted her for 14 years. Then a news headline from 1876 sparks inspiration: Missing Dressmakers Believed to be Murdered. Compelled to discover what happened to Hannelore and Margaret, Sarah returns to her roots as a journalist. Will her beautiful heirloom engagement ring uncover a connection to Hanna Schaeffer? 

 

 

 

 

Title:The Dressmaker's Dowry: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:384 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.62 inPublished:February 7, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062469835

ISBN - 13:9780062469830

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I read this book in one sitting... ...it is that amazing. The author weaves between the Barbary Coast of 1870s San Francisco and the modern day without missing a beat. Neither story seems stilted or slow, and it keeps you completely riveted.
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this book I bought this book about a month ago and just started reading in two days ago. I simply love it, the characters and the scenes are so good. I recommend it for sure
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Compelling & Interesting! Intriguing, thought-provoking and heartwarming! This story is told from two different perspectives. One is that of Sarah, a young woman who stumbles upon an unsolved mystery from the 1870s while working on her thesis. And the other is Hanna, a young woman struggling to survive and raise her siblings in a time when women had no rights and few options. It is, ultimately, a story about loneliness, loss, injustice, determination, strength, tragedy, guilt, and love. The writing is smooth. The characters are strong, multi-layered, and fascinating. And the multiple plots quickly unravel into a engrossing mystery that not only manages to intertwine all the subplots, but also ends with a little surprise. Overall this is a wonderful debut novel and I look forward to reading more from Jaeger in the future.
Date published: 2017-02-07

Editorial Reviews

“Jaeger weaves her mystery over two timelines, luring the reader into a riveting tale of intrigue and suspense. Blending the past and present together through strong descriptions and colorful, exciting characters, Jaeger creates an engrossing novel. Readers will be captivated by her voice, that of a good old-fashioned storyteller.”