The Eagle of the Ninth Chronicles by Rosemary SutcliffThe Eagle of the Ninth Chronicles by Rosemary Sutcliff

The Eagle of the Ninth Chronicles

byRosemary Sutcliff

Paperback | July 3, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 100 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-3 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


The Ninth Legion marched into the mists of northern Britain-and they were never seen again.Four thousand men disappeared and their eagle standard was lost. It's a mystery that's never been solved, until now . . . So begins the story of The Eagle of the Ninth, set against a backdrop of Roman Britain and featuring a young soldier, Marcus Aquila, who sets off into the unknown north to find out what happened to the lost legion.Following on from this are The Silver Branch in which two young soldiers uncover a plot to overthrow the Emperor, and The Lantern Bearers which is set at a time when the Romans are leaving the shores of Britain and tells of Aquila who, having served in the Roman army, is now returning home to hisfarm-but when he gets there everything he knows and loves has been destroyed and so he sets out to seek revenge.To have three such exciting stories in one volume is a treat for fans old and new.
Rosemary Sutcliff was born in Surrey, the daughter of a naval officer. At the age of two she contracted the progressively wasting Still's disease and spent most of her life in a wheelchair. Apart from reading, she made little progress at school and left at fourteen to attend art school, specializing in miniature painting. In the 19...
Title:The Eagle of the Ninth ChroniclesFormat:PaperbackDimensions:656 pages, 7.8 × 5.08 × 0.03 inPublished:July 3, 2010Publisher:Oxford University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0192789988

ISBN - 13:9780192789983

Appropriate for ages: 9 - 12

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love having all three in one! I loved these stories as a child, and so was very excited to find the complete collection brought together in a single volume. Very excited to reread!
Date published: 2018-03-22

Editorial Reviews

"What a splendid story it is, compulsive reading!" --Junior Bookshelf