The Edge Of The Light by Elizabeth GeorgeThe Edge Of The Light by Elizabeth George

The Edge Of The Light

byElizabeth George

Paperback | August 1, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.78 online 
$14.99 list price save 8%
Earn 69 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

The climactic final installment of New York Times bestseller Elizabeth George's award-winning saga.

Seth Darrow is a straightforward guy, and he likes life to be simple.  Lately, it’s been anything but.
 
Since his beloved grandfather’s stroke, Seth has been focused on getting Grand home again, before his aunt can take advantage of the situation to get her hands on Grand’s valuable real estate. Seth would also like to get his relationship with Prynne on solid ground. He loves her, but can he believe she has her drug use under control? 
 
Meanwhile, things are complicated for the other Whidbey Island friends. Derric has found Rejoice, the sister he left behind in Uganda, but no one – including Rejoice – knows she is his sister. Jenn is discovering feelings for her teammate Cynthia, feelings her born-again Christian mother would never find acceptable. And Becca, hiding under a false identity since her arrival on the island, is concealing the biggest secret of all.
 
In the final book of the Whidbey Island saga, events build to an astonishing climax as secrets are revealed, hearts are broken, and lives are changed forever.
Elizabeth George, described by Entertainment Weekly as “the queen of the mystery genre,” is the author of the bestselling crime novels about Inspector Thomas Lynley. Her books are known for complex plotting, elegant writing, and well-developed characters, all of which she also brings to her novels for teens.The first book in the Whidbe...
Loading
Title:The Edge Of The LightFormat:PaperbackDimensions:416 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.06 inPublished:August 1, 2017Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0147513960

ISBN - 13:9780147513960

Reviews

Read from the Book

1.Hospitals were bad, but rehab centers were worse. In a hospital, rotten stuff that happened to people at least got dealt with pronto and you ended up knowing what the outcome was going to be. You had a car wreck, you got carted to Emergency, you got patched up or operated on, you lived, or you died. It all took time, but the time ended. In a rehab center, though, everything went on and on. Especially if you had a stroke.That was what Seth Darrow was thinking as he watched his grandfather in one of the physical therapy rooms at Penn Cove Care, which was situated on a leafy side street in the old Victorian town of Coupeville on Whidbey Island. Seth and his dad had just engaged in a depressing meeting with the head of PT, a woman who'd spent twenty-five years in the military and who had a way of speaking that pretty much showed it. The news they'd been given had matched the weather outside, which was wintertime bleak with a sky pouring down a fifteenth straight day of steady rain accompanied by the occasional wind gust that was taking down aged alders and lofty Douglas firs across the island."Mr. Darrow still isn't working with us," she announced to Seth and his dad ten seconds after they'd sat in front of her desk. Her name plate called her G. H. Fieldstone, and she'd introduced herself as George. Then she'd added doctor in front of it, just in case they'd considered getting friendly. "This has to change," she said. "This is a rehab facility, with the accent on rehab. If Mr. Darrow doesn't make more progress..." She did one of those lifting of the finger routines, which meant they were to fill in the blanks. She looked severely at Seth's dad, Rich. It seemed she thought he was thick as a board because she added, "This isn't a permanent living facility. You understand."She then suggested that they have a look for themselves from the hallway outside of the PT room where Ralph Darrow was working with the occupational therapist. That was what they were doing at the moment, and Seth's heart thudded painfully as he watched his grandfather.It had been more than four weeks since the stroke that had robbed Ralph Darrow of speech and the ability to use his right arm. His right leg had been affected, too, but not as badly as his arm. He'd more or less got back the use of the leg, which was good news, although he was still unsteady. But when it came to the arm, he was toast. The damage was done, the arm was finito, and what he had to do was learn how to be left handed. He also had to learn how to use his left hand to exercise his right arm so that it didn't develope something called contractures. If that happened, his right arm's muscles would totally freeze up as the muscles thickened. So once he got steadier on his feet, Ralph had PT sessions for his arm several times a day. He also had speech therapy sessions twice a day to handle the loss of language. The situation Ralph was in would've been a bummer for anyone, but for Seth's grandfather, who for the last fifty-two of his seventy-three years had been a carpenter, a gardener, and a forester who maintained well over one hundred acres of woodland, it was like a death blow.

Editorial Reviews

Praise for The Edge of the Light:"This volume weaves several plot strands together, with a bit of mystery, some romance, drug issues, and a dash of paranormal . . . Intriguing details of Northwest island life continue to draw readers in." —Kirkus Reviews"Series fans will happily gulp down this conclusion to multiple satisfying mysteries." —Booklist"The author brings Whidbey Island to life, a place that is a world by itself. The author tackles issues of poverty, illness, and drug-abuse, maintaining realism with just a twinge of the metaphysical." —VOYAPraise for The Edge of the Shadows:“On Whidbey Island, everyone has got a secret, and those secrets intertwine in fascinating and intricate ways. . . those who are already hooked on George’s clear expository style and elegant construction will find much to enjoy.” —Booklist"Readers eager to revisit the residents of Whidbey Island will find much to love here. . . Enjoyable." —School Library JournalPraise for The Edge of the Water:"A ripping good thriller." —School Library Journal“One need not have read the first book to be engrossed. . . a riveting story. . . readers will be eager for the next installment.” —VOYA  “Readers will remember Whidbey for decades to come. George has scored an ‘A+’ again. . . waiting for book number three is going to take an incredible amount of patience. Bravo!” —Suspense MagazinePraise for The Edge of Nowhere:“George has created an interesting set of characters and plot twists that teenagers who like adventure and mysteries will enjoy." —School Library Journal“...strong appeal to fans of Beth Kephart and Nancy Werlin.” —BCCB"In her first foray into YA fiction, Ms George (a beloved adult suspense novelist) has hit the nail on the proverbial head with this action-packed, mysterious, and somewhat 'creepy' novel . . . the writing is superb from Ms. George, as always but . . . it's the combination of great characters and relationships that truly have this novel raising the bar when it comes to today's YA fiction." —Suspense MagazineFrom the Hardcover edition.