The End Of Your Life Book Club

Paperback | June 4, 2013

byWill Schwalbe

not yet rated|write a review

An inspiring memoir for fans of Joan Didion, Annie Lamott, and Mitch Albom, The End of Your Life Book Club is a beautiful celebration of literature and a profound testament to the ways we remember our loved ones.

Mary Anne Schwalbe was a renowned educator who filled such august positions as Director of Admissions at Harvard and Director of College Counseling at New York's prestigious Dalton School. She also felt it incumbent upon herself to educate the less fortunate and spent the last 10 years of her life building libraries in Afghanistan. But her story here begins with a mocha, dispensed from a machine in the waiting room of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. Over coffee, Will casually asks his mom what she's been reading. The conversation they have grows into tradition: soon they mutually agree to read the same books and share them together as Mary Anne waits for her chemotherapy treatments. Their discussions reveal how books become increasingly important to the connection between a remarkable woman whose life is coming to a close, and a man becoming closer to his mom than ever before.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.67 online
$19.95 list price (save 21%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

An inspiring memoir for fans of Joan Didion, Annie Lamott, and Mitch Albom, The End of Your Life Book Club is a beautiful celebration of literature and a profound testament to the ways we remember our loved ones. Mary Anne Schwalbe was a renowned educator who filled such august positions as Director of Admissions at Harvard and Directo...

Will Schwalbe has worked in publishing (most recently as senior vice president and editor-in-chief of Hyperion Books); new media, as founder of Cookstr.com; and as a journalist, writing for such publications as the New York Times and the South China Morning Post. He is on the board of Yale University Press and the Kingsborough Communit...

other books by Will Schwalbe

Send: Why People Email So Badly And How To Do It Better
Send: Why People Email So Badly And How To Do It Better

Paperback|Aug 24 2010

$14.85 online$18.95list price(save 21%)
Send (Revised Edition)
Send (Revised Edition)

Kobo ebook|Sep 2 2008

$13.99

see all books by Will Schwalbe
Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 7.99 × 5.16 × 0.72 inPublished:June 4, 2013Publisher:Knopf CanadaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0307399672

ISBN - 13:9780307399670

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for The End of Your Life Book Club:"[A] touching account of the life of letters Schwalbe shared with his inspiring mother.... Extraordinary." —Kirkus Reviews"A graceful, affecting testament to a mother and a life well lived." —Entertainment Weekly (Grade: A)"A tender, beautiful, life-affirming book that all book lovers will embrace." —Vincent Lam, author of The Headmaster's Wager"With a refreshing forthrightness and an excellent list of books included, this is an astonishing, pertinent and wonderfully welcome work." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)