The Erotics of Restraint: Essays on Literary Form

August 13, 2019|
The Erotics of Restraint: Essays on Literary Form by Douglas Glover
$21.95
Paperback
Earn 110 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Ships within 1-3 weeks.Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Buy In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

Why do we read? What do we cherish in a book? What is the nature of a masterpiece? What do Alice Munro, Albert Camus, and the great Polish experimentalist Witold Gombrowicz have in common? In the tradition of Nabokov, Calvino, and Kundera, Douglas Glover’s new essay collection fuses his long experience as an author with his love of philosophy and his passion for form. Call it a new kind of criticism or an operator’s manual for readers and writers, The Erotics of Restraint extends Glover’s long and deeply personal conversation with great books and their authors. With the same dazzling mix of emotion and idea that characterizes his fiction, he dissects narrative and shows us how and why it works, why we love it, and how that makes us human. Erudite and obsessively detailed, inventive, confessional, and cheeky, these essays offer a brilliant clarity, a respite in an age of doubt. They raise the bar.
Douglas Glover has published four novels, five story collections, and three works of nonfiction. His novel Elle won the Governor-General’s Award for Fiction and was a finalist for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. It was adapted for the stage by Severn Thompson and premiered at Theatre Passe Muraille in 2016. His short fic...
Loading
Title:The Erotics of Restraint: Essays on Literary Form
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:224 pages, 8.2 X 5.1 X 0.8 in
Shipping dimensions:224 pages, 8.2 X 5.1 X 0.8 in
Published:August 13, 2019
Publisher:Biblioasis
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781771962919

Look for similar items by category:

Recently Viewed
|